Black-Eyed Peas and Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I love the flavor of the gumbo....but I don't care for the thickness. When I make it again, I will cut the amount of oil significantly and all of the flour. I will add rice to the broth and keep it a thin soup. I used canned tomatoes (28 oz) and frozen okra. I repeat-- I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was a fabulous first experience with making Gumbo, and even tasting Gumbo for me. I would give it a 5 star but the prep time indicated is much less than it actually took me to prepare it. The recipe itself is top notch, and the flavors can't be beat. There's room to add extra seasonings if desired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Texas, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Made this yesterday, it is very good. It was even better today at lunch. I did add additional cayenne pepper, and black pepper. For the ham I used a Farmer John 6 oz. ham steak. My husband wants to know if I'll make it again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was fantastic!! My hubbie thinks he doesn't like okra, but this recipe was great. The veggies weren't too mushy and I used kielbasa instead of ham...will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAB77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crooksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe was very good. I added a jalapeno to the onions and celery and okra to saute and used Rotel diced tomatoes with chilis. It gave it just the right kick. I also served this with white rice and corn bread. Great meal for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Delicious! My 6 year old finished his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This really wasn't much like a gumbo and was not too flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly, too. Perhaps sausage instead of ham would make it more complex and flavorful. More spices are needed as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This recipe is DE-LISH! I added shrimp and rice and left out the okra (couldn't find any... don't be surprised, I'm in the UK). Was quick and easy to make and is super filling! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was good. I made sure I baked the okra in a 450 degree oven for 45 minutes. This keeps it from being slimy once adding it to the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States