Black-Eyed Peas and Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This gumbo is extremely easy and tasty! People always say gumbo is so difficult/time consuming to make because you need special things like file powder, bacon drippings, or 50 ingredients; not this recipe! Thank you for sharing Paula!! All the ingredients were extremely easy to get in my small local grocery. I took some liberties and added shrimp and andouille sausage and substituted black-eyed peas with kidney beans - still just as tasty. I would change the amount of salt too. It was a bit too salty for my taste and I would add more okra...but that's just me because I love okra. =] This recipe makes a good sized pot. I would only say this serves around 6-8 people though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent! I added extra black eyed peas and corn as well. Was a big hit with my 11 year old as well as grandparents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Only change I made was to substitute chopped green bell pepper for the okra, since bell pp are normally put into gumbo and my family has mixed opinions on okra. This was fabulous for New Year's Day. It tasted really good, and was not that time-consuming. Don't let making the roux intimidate you. As long as you keep the heat at medium and whisk or stir the whole time, you won't burn it before it turns that pretty roux color somewhere between peanut butter and chocolate. I made 6 cups of white rice to accompany this (4 cups chicken broth, 2 cups white rice, simmered for 20 minutes), and it was the perfect amount. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent! Thank you for this wonderful recipe that will definitely be our new tradition for ringing in the new year. I couldn't find okra so I used sugar snap peas and halved them. When it came time to add the meat, I split the soup into two pots, added the meat to one (kielbasa) and kept the other vegetarian for my daughter. I added some cooked rice to both. Very hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I tripled the spices (we like a lot of flavor in our food), omitted the celery (husband does not like it), used 16oz of chopped Hillshire Farm Lil' Smokies instead of ham, and used canned tomatoes and frozen okra. I also added 1.5 cups of cooked white rice when I mixed in the black-eyed peas since I had leftovers in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Easy to make and satisfying and tummy warming on a cold day. Very healthy for weight watchers. Made a lot, had plenty for leftovers for a couple of days. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I enjoyed this one -- hearty and filling but not heavy as some gumbos can be. For the most part I followed the listed ingredients (instead used fresh thyme, ham stock, and stirred in a few dashes of Worcestershire as well as Tony's)-- just changing the order in which they were added (trinity introduced to roux then sauteed; non-canned black-eyed peas required longer simmer, roasted okra did not). I served this gumbo with cornbread, but it would have been just as tasty topped with a mound of rice as the author suggests (and gumbo dictates). Ah ha... I may have found a new dish for New Years Day. Cheers to luck and prosperity... and good gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was a rich and hearty dish. My changes were a 16 oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of the chopped tomatoes; I added shrimp, sliced carrots and used zuchinni squash instead of okra. I added a 1/4 tsp of creole seasoning. Served over rice...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Wow! This was such a great gumbo!! Whole family loved it, made my house smell delicious and filled my belly in a very pleasant way. I did use a couple extra cloves of garlic, minced my onion very very fine and used a whole large onion...plus, I used ham AND a 16oz bag of shrimp. I also kicked up the spice a bit with more cayenne than the recipe called for. With some brown rice and corn bread muffins..this was a meal worth waiting for....I would cook this again soon and everyone in my house would be glad for it, too! Awesome job Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have been making this for New Years (tomorrow will be year #3)and everyone loves it. I do use good spicey andouille sausage instead of ham and fresh black-eyed peas. My roux is probably much darker than it calls for but I like real yummy dark cajun gumbo and don't mind spending a little extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States