Black-Eyed Peas and Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a very good recipe! The only thing I did different was to cook the onion and celery directly in the roux until tender then added the okra (I used frozen becuase I could not find any fresh). I have made other gumbos that way and I hate making more pots dirty than I have to. Lazy me!:) Thanks for this wonderful recipe. The combinations are terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe was soooooo delicious and so easy. I used fresh veggies, except for the tomatoes; I used canned, diced ones. I also added diced jalapeno peppers just to spice it up a little. True to her word, it was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Good soup! I did make some changes. I used 1/2 cup oil & 2/3 cup flour to start. I added 2 large onions, 4 stalks celery & leaves, 5 cloves minced garlic, 1 bell pepper instead of okra, cooked 10 minutes. Then I stirred in 8 cups of water, 2 cans chopped tomatoes, 1 tablespoon dried parsley, 1-1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon thyme, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 4 bay leaves & better than beef boullian, simmered 20 minutes or so then added 3 cans black eyed peas, no meat added but I did serve with rice which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I will definitely make this again. I made some changes. First, I used smoked sausage instead of ham. I also used two cans of ro-tel tomatoes with green chiles instead of chopping fresh tomatoes. I did not have fresh parsley, so I used about half the amount of dried. Finally, I added half a teaspoon of dried savory. And like a previous reviewer, I cooked the vegetables in with the roux, and because I used frozen okra I added it last. The gumbo is very good. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipie was ok, I probably wouldn't make it again. I made it for a dinner party and it was recieved cooly from my guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Great tasting, very filling & easy to make. Number one hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Adkins Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pineland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe was very good. I added a jalapeno to the onions and celery and okra to saute and used Rotel diced tomatoes with chilis. It gave it just the right kick. I also served this with white rice and corn bread. Great meal for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent! I added extra black eyed peas and corn as well. Was a big hit with my 11 year old as well as grandparents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I love the flavor of the gumbo....but I don't care for the thickness. When I make it again, I will cut the amount of oil significantly and all of the flour. I will add rice to the broth and keep it a thin soup. I used canned tomatoes (28 oz) and frozen okra. I repeat-- I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Delicious! My 6 year old finished his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States