Black-Eyed Peas and Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was good. I made sure I baked the okra in a 450 degree oven for 45 minutes. This keeps it from being slimy once adding it to the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Good soup! I did make some changes. I used 1/2 cup oil & 2/3 cup flour to start. I added 2 large onions, 4 stalks celery & leaves, 5 cloves minced garlic, 1 bell pepper instead of okra, cooked 10 minutes. Then I stirred in 8 cups of water, 2 cans chopped tomatoes, 1 tablespoon dried parsley, 1-1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon thyme, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 4 bay leaves & better than beef boullian, simmered 20 minutes or so then added 3 cans black eyed peas, no meat added but I did serve with rice which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Doesn't need the black eyed peas as it is very think and rich without them. I used bacon instead of ham. Served over brown rice, this was a very good supper and my husband requested the leftovers for lunch today. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Great recipe muy family love it. (w/o the okra). I'll do it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I liked it. I used fresh peas and frozen okra (out of season) and turkey sausage instead of ham. Next time I will add shrimp and crab. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was delicious and just what I needed for New Years Day, a way to use up leftover ham (the old fashioned kind of bone-in ham) and a way to get black-eyed peas for the holiday. After it's done let it simmer covered real low for the tastes to blend. I had to use frozen sliced okra, the only thing available, and it turned out great! Only thing I added extra was a tsp. of chicken granules. Thank you, Paula from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This just wasn't very tasty.The cubbed ham never got soft (verry chuey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I will definitely make this again. I made some changes. First, I used smoked sausage instead of ham. I also used two cans of ro-tel tomatoes with green chiles instead of chopping fresh tomatoes. I did not have fresh parsley, so I used about half the amount of dried. Finally, I added half a teaspoon of dried savory. And like a previous reviewer, I cooked the vegetables in with the roux, and because I used frozen okra I added it last. The gumbo is very good. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I'm sorry to say that this dish isn't to my families taste. The Okra was very fibrous and spoilt it, I really picked them over too, it looked as if I was getting nice young ones, but obviously they weren't. Sorry Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipie was ok, I probably wouldn't make it again. I made it for a dinner party and it was recieved cooly from my guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States