Black-Eyed Pea and Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
My southern husband and I thought the recipe was too bland. We served it with cornbread as others suggested- maybe I will try it again and add more seasonings and a bolder flavored bacon, like the pepper crusted many have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Wonderful soup, even the kids ate it. Served with warm cornbread. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Great super simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I've made this soup MANY times over the past couple of years! It's definately my "go-to" soup recipe! Sometimes I add ham in place of bacon. You can also leave out the potatoes & it's just as good & hearty! Freezes well too! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
When I said I would make this soup, my husband said, "Aren't black-eyed peas eaten as penance?" After eating it, he says, "This is like 15 bean soup, but better!" This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twickenham, Middlesex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this using a vegetarian bacon substitute and vegetable bouillon instead of chicken. It was excellent, and definitely a recipe I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Not a fan of black eyed peas but my husband loves them. This recipe was tasty enough for me to really enjoy and even my picky hubby liked it too. Next time I'll use peppered bacon just to give it a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Ever since I can remember, my grandmother made black-eyed peas every New Year's Day. I didn't change anything and the soup was excellent. Even my wife had an extra serving! I'll make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I really loved this recipe. It was delicious over cornbread. I added more bacon and used frozen black-eyed peas instead of fresh since I had them on hand. It was a great was enjoy a New Year's tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Yum! Great, easy recipe. Just made this to have tomorrow for New Years lunch, and plan to serve with the Waikiki Cornbread recipe from this site. Used pepper-crusted bacon like the last reviewer (used the full pound - we like bacon!), and added a few dashes of hot pepper sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Very good; will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States