Black-Eyed Pea and Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe. Changed very little...less salt yes...potatoes in or out, doesn't matter....the pepper bacon is definitely a good addition. It's wonderful and easy! Have made it at least a dozen times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Good soup and easy to make. However I have trouble getting over the dark brown colour that black eyed peas turn the water / soup into. I have tried rinsing them, but I can't get over the sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this recipe for the New Year and loved it. Used the bacon drippings to make a roux to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rumrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe today..New Year's Day 2013. It is excellent! Added Worcestershire Sauce, green chilies, little Cajun seasoning and carrots. Will make it again for sure. Great with cornbread muffins (gotta love Martha White...with some enhancements like sour cream, cheddar and green chilies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My family LOVED this soup! There were no leftovers and were complaints because it was gone. Huge winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I added some garlic and carrots - I thought the soup was great!! Definitely not a typical soup. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I loved this recipe. Perfect for New Years! I know Ham Hocks taste delicious, but have you ever actually seen a ham hock before it has stewed in your beans? Well I did and would not want that in my food no matter how good it tastes. Bacon was fine Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The end result was very tasty, but it took quite a bit longer to make this than what the recipe stated. Perhaps soaking the beans overnight would have speeded up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I liked this recipe and so did my husband. I let it simmer for about 30 minutes longer so that it would thicken. I used a little more salt and added Tony Cachero's cajun seasoning to give it just a little kick. Very easy and it went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was perfect for a dreary day. I didn't have enough bacon so I added smoked sausage as well and this turned it into a real meal. I also added 2 cups of carrots, which improved the heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States