Black-Eyed Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Excellent!!! I didn't have pork sausage so I ground some pork sirloin with my Kitchen Aid mixer and used that. Since it wasn't seasoned as sausage I added about 1/2 teaspoon sage and extra garlic salt. That's the only change I made and this stuff is wonderful! I'm serving with cornbread and can't wait until time to eat! Try this, it is excellent!!! edited...Dinner is over and we enjoyed every bite! I'm almost afraid to try it with the sausage since the ground pork was so good! I will, however, try the sausage next time and report back. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Dang this was outstanding! I added a dollop of sour cream and sprinkled with fresh tomatoes. in each bowl and we passed the hot sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Weiss
Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was very good!!! I can see adapting this with a different bean for those that are not fans of black eyed peas. I served over cornbread with a dollop of chow chow. I am posting a picture and took like 10 shots, it does not photograph well!!!! but don't let that deter you from trying it as 5 stars is in order! This is perfect for good luck on New Years Day, bet it would fabulous served over rice too, thanks for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was delicious! It was a last minute meal and I happened to have 3 cans of black eyed peas! The only change I made was adding 2 cans of Rotel, and not the extra can of green chilies. The whole family liked it - 11 and up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Searching for a soup to use spicy sausage and frozen black-eyed peas, I found this recipe. And it wasn't until now did I realize the recipe also called for ground beef... musta skimmed over that the first time... Good thing this soup has room for error, er adjustment. Having unintentionally omitted one of the proteins, I did add some celery and small-dice pepper along with the onion (and garlic!). For the remainder of the recipe, I pretty much followed the listed ingredients, possibly adjusting here and there as the soup was stirred and sampled. I finished the soup with an ample dusting of Cajun seasoning and served gumbo-style with a mound of rice and a wedge of cornbread alongside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'm not a fan of black-eyed peas, but my wife is Southern and I wanted her to fulfill her New Year's requirement. This soup is incredibly delicious. I did substitute beef broth for the water / bouillon and I left out the chilies, otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. The Ro-Tel tomatoes brought the perfect amount of heat for us. This soup is very meaty and the black-eyed peas play a supporting role, bringing a pleasant complexity to the flavor. If you really like them I think that you could easily add another can without overwhelming the soup. I made Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread to go with it. Tomorrow's leftovers will be with rice. I can hardly wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladoga, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This turned out delicious! The family loved it and it was a fantastic way to start out the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best black eyed pea recipe I have tried. The best part is that it is so easy and quick to make! I didn't have to spend hours boiling beans and ham hocks. Only change I made was to add 3 (14.5) cans of tomatoes with chiles instead of the 2 plain/1 peppers called for. This was a big hit with all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Perfect New Year's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe, even approved by my picky grandson. I inadvertently left out the big can of tomatoes, but it was still great. Next time I think I'm going to add frozen okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States