Black-Eyed Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Tasty! I had to make quite a few substitutions due to my pantry stock, but still turned out good and was a bit fresher. Will hope to try as original recipe to compare. Substitutions included: pork to 1/4c bacon bits, Worchester sauce to Steak sauce, garlic salt to 2 garlic cloves plus sea salt and molasses to syrup. Used frozen black eyed peas and beef stalk instead of caned and added water with bouillon. Good tasty soup...would prefer it thicker (original recipe may be so) or served with rice or cornbread. Maybe add some crushed tomatoes for thickening next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Had black eyed peas left from New Year's Day and thought I'd try something other than throwing them in w/ a pot of vegetable soup. So glad I tried this! Daughter #1, who HATES and despises black eyed peas, came in from work and ate two, yes, two bowls and pronounced it delicious. I did have about a cup more peas than the recipe calls for, but hey, it's soup, right? Absolutely not too many. Wouldn't have a problem w/ more. In my opinion, it needed much more time on the stove. 45 minutes is not enough time to mingle and marry the flavors. After tasting, I felt it needed more kick. Now, please understand that I do not like things too hot, just spicy. I added extra salt and pepper and a gracious plenty (as Mama always said) of Frank's Original hot sauce. Practically perfect in every way. When I added a 14.5 oz can of tomatoes and chilies, abovementioned daughter and I were practically dancing w/ joy. Now, that I've reviewed original recipe, I'm probably going back to the kitchen to add a few cans of other beans, not, and I repeat NOT because the soup needs it...just cuz I'm trying to add more vegs to my diet. I make lots of soups and freeze them in one serving bags to take to work for lunch. Very delicious, healthy and frugal. I'm looking forward to having this one. Cornbread essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Perfect for New Year's Day! Delicious! I use a bag of dried black-eyed peas to cut down on the sodium, and I add in kale in the last few minutes of cooking. I also use beef broth instead of the water and bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rrkalina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I first saw this recipe in a magazine and my husband likes it better than chili. It is definitely a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I didn't care for this soup at all, but the men of the house loved it. I just durn like the flavored of beef and sausage mixed together. I'd do it again differently if the guys want me to, but otherwise I wouldn't make a new attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Delicious!! I omitted the hamburger and used homemade salsa instead of the Rotel tomatoes. I will make this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very hearty, delicious soup. I did add 3 tbsps of tomato paste and 2 cans of rotel because I only had a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. That makes sense right? Also I was using dried black-eyed peas so cooked longer of course. Didn't have the green chilies so omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
So good and so easy to put together. I made this using all pork sausage and precooked dried peas in place of the canned. We loved it! I can see myself making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe. So Good. Used organic coconut oil to cook the onion and sausage. Used Scorpion pepper instead of chillies. Instead of Worcestershire sauce used angustura bitters. instead of garlic salt used fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is delish! My whole family loved it. I only used a pound of meat (beef) but will try sausage next time. Used homemade bone broth instead of the water and bouillon. Didn't have enough Black Eyed Peas so I used one can of Black Beans and one of Kidney beans. 2 cans of Black Eyed Peas since one reviewer said it could handle more beans. Don't have garlic salt so used about 5 cloves of garlic and sea salt (1tsp) Increased the other spices and Worchestershire after tasting. Used honey since I didn't have molasses. Added some carrots and about 1/2 a head of cabbage. My new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States