Black-Eyed Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Wife and I liked it... Kids begged me never to make it again! Great for adults though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe was awesome. It needed some color so I added some chopped and destemmed kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is a very good recipe. My two oldest children, who don't otherwise like black beans, both had two bowls. I prepared the recipe as above but added kale towards the end. The kale went nicely in the soup and gave it some color. The soup is great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
One of the best soups I have ever had. Adjusted the recipe to feed 25+. No negative comments. It's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My family & I Loved this recipe. I did make some changes as we don't like hot & overly spicy foods. I used low sodium beef broth instead of the water and bullions. I also switched this to 2 cans of light red kidney beans and 2 packages of frozen black eyed peas. No spicy tomatoes or chillies, just 2 cans of petite tomatoes but, I did add chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, mustard powder, and tomatoe paste. A half hour before it was done I mixed corn starch to broth and added to the pot to thicken the sauce. Basically I turned this into a black eyed pea-chili recipe. I served this with grated cheddar cheese, a dollop of sour cream, and scoopable corn chips. It was fantastic. I usually try to stick to any recipe I try but, there was no going around this one. This turned out better than my usual chili and everyone said so. This was our New Years dinner (as I'm southern & black eyed peas is a family tradition). I have tried so many different recipes in the past and my family says this is the one they want every year on the first! Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I love this recipe!! We have dried black eyed peas that we got on sale and I had to find a way to use them since I've NEVER cooked with them. Also, we have a new year's resolution to save money by not eating out and strictly limiting our grocery budget. I made this batch for just under $4.50 and definitely tweaked it based on my liking and what I had available in my cabinet. This is what I did differently: We used the full 1 lb package of dried peas, replaced both the sausage and beef with ONLY 1/2 lb of beef that we bought on sale, I skipped the Rotel and can of green chiles and replaced them with about 6 large roasted green chiles instead (where I live in CO we buy them by the bushel every fall and freeze them). I also voided using molasses because we simply didn't have it. I added a bit of chile powder to add more flavor… it is so delicious!!! To cook the dried peas I boiled them for 10 mins under 3 inches of water, turned off the heat and let them soak for an hour. I then drained them and followed the recipe says to (I allowed the soup to simmer for a bit longer to accommodate the extra time needed for the dried peas). So good and we are DEFINITELY making it again--especially since it only costed us 75 cents per serving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malissa Ahlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This has become our go to New Year's Day meal! After years of trying different ways to incorporate Black-Eyed Peas into our NYD dinner I'm glad we finally found a mainstay. I use bulk Italian style chicken sausage rather than pork sausage and that lowers the fat content while keeping it wonderfully delicious. I also subbed beef broth for the water/bullion and used some frozen/roasted/diced Hatch Green Chile's rather than canned... love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
What a great recipe! We cooked up a 1lb bag of dried black-eyed peas to use for this. Also added a couple cloves of garlic with the onions. Didn't have enough beef boullion, but did have fresh turkey stock, so used some of that, plus the water from cooking the peas, then let it cook down to more of a chili consistency. Smells heavenly as it cooked and tasted DIVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaliMomma
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious! I will definitely make this again. It was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I don't think I've ever had black eye peas before, let alone cook with them... So why did I have a bag of frozen ones in the freezer?!? This dish was delicious! I substituted a few things based on what I had: a bag of frozen black eye peas for canned, two garlic cloves instead of garlic salt, omitted the salt, and (accidentally) crushed tomatoes for the 28 oz can, beef broth for water and bullion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States