Black-Eyed Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe brought back memories of my grandmother and her ever present pot of beans or peas. Tasted great - just substituted ground venison for the beef. This will be making it into our family meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
As the only southern in my home, I forgot to cut the recipe in half. Now I am glad I didn’t. The only thing I change is that I didn’t use ground beef. Who’d have thought that using bullion and molasses would make such a difference? Wow! Next time I will put in another 2 cups of water. The soup/essence is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is really easy and makes enough for an army. I was within a 1/2 inch from the top of my dutch oven. Warms up very well. Freezes nicely also. I made it exactly as stated...no need to change up on perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Made the recipe as written with the small exception of using frozen black eyed peas instead of canned. This will go into my rotation of quick and easy wintertime recipes. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
my husband made this for us for new year's day. it was relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Wow is all I have to say about this soup.I used ground beef and Conecuh sausage, it was out of this world good! It does not get much better than this folks. It is an explosion of awesomeness:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I realized after making this soup that I need to purchase a bigger dutch oven! I used what I had or only ingredients that I liked. Instead of regular onion I used a red one. For the black eyed peas I used homestyle with bacon flavor 2 cans and regular plain ones for 1 can. I used better then bouillon beef and bc I did not have molasses I used light brown sugar instead. I also don't like a lot of tomatoes so I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chile peppers. I used both hamburger and mild sausage. This soup is hearty and was very delicious. I am going to have to freeze some for later but I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Even my kids ate this and had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! The perfect comfort food for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is the third year I've made this soup for New Year's Day. My mom always told me black-eyed peas were good luck for the new year. :) This year's batch was the best ever. My 6 yr old even gobbled hers up in record time. Having heard that canned tomatoes are killing us (like most everything else we eat these days), I bought a box of chopped tomatoes. They came out more like a chunky sauce than diced tomatoes, but I guess that was just what the recipe needed because it was delicious. I froze half and still have enough for lunch for the next couple of days for me and my family. Looking forward to lunch today for sure!! :) (Note: I still used Ro-Tel. A southern girl can't live without her Ro-Tel.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States