Black-Eyed Pea Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was a huge hit at a backyard BBQ. I used 1 1/2 cups Pace Picante in medium and added a yellow pepper for taste and color. This recipe made a generous amount that my friends ate with chips and alone as a salad. It is so fresh and summery tasting! Many asked for the recipe. I had a small amount left over and it has kept so well in the refrigerator. I have served the leftovers with celery stalks, grilled chicken breast and peppered turkey and cheese wraps. This is my choice for a side to bring to get togethers and BBQ from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
quick, delicious and the "hit" of any gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I have made this dish several times for family gatherings and each time I get great compliments. It is now a requirement for all our New Year's Eve gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I added organge bell pepper, cilantro, 1/2 squeezed lime and mild salsa. I only used the italian dressing for salt I don't think I even used 1/2 of a packet. Good recipe not spicy at all! ;-) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Easy easy! I used the 1.5 pound jar of salsa - and added some freshly chopped tomatos, along with some cilantro - plus I juiced half a lime, and used about half of the rendered lime juice. Heeded previous advice and ended up using about 1/2 a packet of the dry italian dressing mix packet. Plenty of salt at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I cater small events and I made this for a western themed wedding and served with corn chips. Everyone loved it, it was one of the 1st things gone from the buffet & everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is fantastic! Followed the recipe as given except used a 1 lb jar of pace picante sauce instead of 1 and 1.3 cup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and the result was much too salty. Perhaps Italian Dressing mixes come in different size packages but I'm pretty sure I used the typical size as directed. I was very disappointed and we had to dump the entire bowl. I'm not sure why my experience was so different from the other reviews but it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was served at a Mardi Gras party and it flew off the table and was given many compliments. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This is an excellent recipe for anybody that says they don't like black eyedpeas. Now I can't wait until next years bean bonanza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States