Black-Eyed Pea Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Ive tried many versions of this recipe, this one with dry italian dressing mix and ingredients is the best! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I was a little skeptical about the black eyed peas, but I made this recipe for the first time for a Mardi Gras potluck and it was a huge success! I used a 1 pound jar of chunky mild Pace, used only half a packet of the Italian dressing mix, and left out the green pepper. I actually prefer my salsa a little spicier than the recipe called for so I added an extra jalapeno and had some larger chunks on top as garnish. Because I used fresh jalapenos, none of the texture was lost by not adding the green pepper. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It's always been a tradition to eat black-eyed peas on New Year's Day...no one has yet to say, how to eat them on New Year's Day...so I ate them this way. And I loved this recipe. I made my batch with an Italian Dressing Mix from right here on Allrecipes and converted the portion I needed from the batch to fit the recipe, about 1 tbsp & 1/8th tsp to match a .7 ounce packet. But followed the recipe to a T, but used a mild salsa due to kids eating it and it was rather easy and quick. It wasn't hot at all for my kids and my 2 pickiest eaters actually enjoyed it. Great way to use up pantry items and still have a solid and yet light dish to treat the family with. I have no complaints for this recipe. We liked it very very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe is awesome. I have made it several times for several occasions and everyone loves it. The only thing I do different is omit the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this last year and it was really awesome. I will make it again this year. It does make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. Not too many people liked it because of the black eyed peas (more for me!) but it tasted super great. Those that were willing to take a taste loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Rohlfing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I HATE black-eyed peas and have never eaten them on new years. However, last year I came across this recipe & decided that I would try them out. Absolutely LOVE this recipe & will make it every year!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very hearty and great flavor. Best to by the chips shaped like 'scoops' for this salsa. I made it for a get-together, and it recieved lots of compliments. ...one reviewer said it was far too salty, but mine turned out prefect. Maybe make sure you are using garlic powder, and not garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Very good salsa. Very easy and quick to make as well, which is a huge plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I brought this to a party where some pretty finicky eaters don't mind telling you if it's good or bad and it was VERY well received! It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States