Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A healthy salad, but bland on the flavor. The next time I make this, I will add some jalapeño peppers and other spices to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe was so yummy! I cooked a 1/2 bag of frozen black-eyed peas with chicken broth, drained, then let them cool. Added red onion, red and green bell pepper, lots of cucumber, celery, and shaved a whole carrot. Added Italian dressing, seasoned with a dash of salt, pepper, and oregano. Refrigerated until dinner and mmm, mmm, good. Can't wait to make this dish when it's my turn to host my family after church dinner. Thanks Ladyem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I enjoyed this, but only after I added a few other seasonings. I whisked the balsamic vinegar and oil with some minced garlic, dijon mustard and just a touch of honey, and also added some Italian seasoning. I still felt like it could have used "something" but it was pretty good. I did start with dried peas, soaked them overnight and simmered them for about 15 minutes or so until they were slightly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is my all time favorite recipe!! Sometimes I make it just to have for lunch. Good way to get your protein in. I make this recipe exactly the way it is and it's FANTASTIC!! The last time I made it, I added a small can of sliced olives and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I make this for New Year's now! Great vegan recipe everyone can enjoy. I sometimes forget to let it marinate and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
After making it once for our New Year's black eyed peas. I can't make it enough for people. I add my little touches to taste of course. I enjoyed the recipe. I will post the pic when I feel like looking for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Nice combo of crunchy veggies and soft beans. The dressing is wonderful! And it can easily be adapted based on other veggies you have in your fridge. I added some kale and carrots and used the cooked beans I had. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This is now a New Year's Eve standard. Most guests turn their nose up but once the first person compliments it, others get up the courage to try and no one has been disappointed yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Love this, just made it! I left out the green bell peppers....they hate me! I will be making this alot, I will add some cilantro next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a good salad. I added corn to the mix and it was even better. The addition of corn to this recipe would bring the rating up to 5 stars in my opinion. It is good as is, though. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States