Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This just got a 3 on the Picky Philly Scale, he decided I could make it again for variety, but NOT too often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Wood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was a good recipe. I drained the black-eyed peas. I also used red wine vinegar rather than balsamic vinegar. I used the pre-diced vegetables out of the produce section of the grocery store to make the preparation go faster. I also doubled the oil and vinegar. It was nice and crunchy, and it would be great to take to a potluck. We ate it as a side dish with chicken and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really tasty way to start the New Year! I only had 1 can of black eyed peas on hand, so I added a can of great northern beans. Still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A healthy salad, but bland on the flavor. The next time I make this, I will add some jalapeño peppers and other spices to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe was so yummy! I cooked a 1/2 bag of frozen black-eyed peas with chicken broth, drained, then let them cool. Added red onion, red and green bell pepper, lots of cucumber, celery, and shaved a whole carrot. Added Italian dressing, seasoned with a dash of salt, pepper, and oregano. Refrigerated until dinner and mmm, mmm, good. Can't wait to make this dish when it's my turn to host my family after church dinner. Thanks Ladyem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I enjoyed this, but only after I added a few other seasonings. I whisked the balsamic vinegar and oil with some minced garlic, dijon mustard and just a touch of honey, and also added some Italian seasoning. I still felt like it could have used "something" but it was pretty good. I did start with dried peas, soaked them overnight and simmered them for about 15 minutes or so until they were slightly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is my all time favorite recipe!! Sometimes I make it just to have for lunch. Good way to get your protein in. I make this recipe exactly the way it is and it's FANTASTIC!! The last time I made it, I added a small can of sliced olives and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I make this for New Year's now! Great vegan recipe everyone can enjoy. I sometimes forget to let it marinate and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
After making it once for our New Year's black eyed peas. I can't make it enough for people. I add my little touches to taste of course. I enjoyed the recipe. I will post the pic when I feel like looking for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Nice combo of crunchy veggies and soft beans. The dressing is wonderful! And it can easily be adapted based on other veggies you have in your fridge. I added some kale and carrots and used the cooked beans I had. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States