Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Im giving this 3 stars just to be fair. Maybe we just don't like black eyed peas. But no one would eat this at our new years eve get together. I ended up throwing it away. (something I never do with food) Maybe it was my lack of love for this food while I made it. Sorry though. Didnt like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have made a variation of this for years. To eliminate the fat I use a cup of salsa instead of oil and vinegar. It has all the taste and makes it totally fat free. Try it with a can of Hominy and substitute black beans for the black-eyed peas for a more Mexican flare. Don't forget the ground cumin and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carefree, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
UPDATE: I've made the original and with substitutions. This is hands down MUCH better with cider, rather than balsamic vinegar. The cider doesn't mask the bright veggie colors and doesn't overpower with flavor. You can really be creative with this recipe and still turn out a beautiful salad. For example, I combined this recipe with another by adding: 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard, 2 teaspoons of honey, 4 thin ribs celery - thinly sliced (3/4 cup), 2 carrots - peeled & finely diced (3/4 cup). I also substituted cider vinegar for balsamic. Still incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this recipe for my family last night, on New Year's Eve and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have always enjoyed this salad and made it for our New Year's Eve Good Luck Dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was an easy and delicious salad! It looked pretty when served and makes a wonderful cool summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was easy to make and tastes yummy. I forgot the parsley so I replaced the recipe dressing with bottled italian dressing. This recipe is easy to adjust to your taste, for example, I replaced red onions with scallions and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is very good and easy to make. I just made half the recipe with one can of black eyes peas (drained and rinsed) and halved the other ingredients (except the sauce). Let it sit overnight and it was very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very good! Even the BF liked it and he doesn't normally. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Yum! This salad is great! I loved how easy it was too. I will make this again sometime - this would be perfect for a picnic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States