Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for New Years this year, and it was a huge hit. I am not a black eyed pea fan, and I wanted to make something that actually tasted good, and this recipe delivered. I will have to throw this into my regular routine of items to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Being the frugal gal that I am, I used dry black-eyed peas and doubled the recipe. A great healthy recipe to start the new year off right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used fresh black eyed peas. I put everything together and let it sit overnight but it was missing something. I added a little garlic powder and it was still missing something. I didn't have salsa but perhaps it would have saved the salad. I ended up serving it with multigrain scoops. I won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great salad. You do need to store it 24 hours in the refrigerator to blend the flavors, so its best to add the chopped tomatoes shortly before serving or they become soggy overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Pretty tasty! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Nice flavors. Next time I think I would try making the Black Eyed Peas instead of using them from a can. I suspect they would have a nicer texture. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this for a summer picnic. No one knew who made it and believe me, I was hunted down! Everyone LOVED this salad. Thanks Ladyem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wow!! So yummy!! I couldn't stop eating it!! I used a 16oz bag of dry beans and didn't measure anything else, just put it in. I also added some carrots. Mmmmm........ Next time I will probably add some extra balsamic vinegar. It gets better the longer you keep it in the fridge so make sure not to skip out on that step. Thank you for sharing, I will be making this ALOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Thought this salad was very fresh and delicious! I did not add tomato because I don't like it, but added some cucumber instead. I also used 1 can of black bean and 1 can of white beans because the store was out of black-eyed peas. Really loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good just go easy on tha onions. Raw onions are STRONG and can overwhelm the salad. You dont want people walking around calling you Onion Breath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States