Black-Eyed Pea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe. The flavors, the colors, everything was great. I skimped on the feta (only used about 2 ounces) and the oil to cut down the fat. It still turned out great. This would be really nice with real tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Holy Cow! This recipe made me a believer in black eyed peas! I made pretty much as called for in the recipie except for a previous reviewer suggestion to use a balsamic vinegar reduction -- to do this, I took a mid-quality balsamic and boiled it down to about 1/3 its original volume, and used the recipie amount of the concentrate. My New Year's Eve party guests LOVED the flavors - we used it as a dip with some very crisp rice crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
My sister in law makes a similiar recipe with red peppers and omits the honey. she also use the tomato basil feta cheese. We love this salad!!It is great for lunch-healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I had a package of steamed black-eyed peas that I didn't know what to do with, so I gave this recipe a try. It was delicious! I cut the recipe in half since I'm single, but I still used 1/2 an onion as 1/4 of an onion just wasn't enough. All the other ingredients I just cut in half. I also used oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, so I drained and chopped them without pouring the boiling water, since they were already quite soft. I used fat-free feta cheese to cut the calories a bit. Altogether this was a fantastic high-protein and very nutritious salad. Would be great for a light lunch or supper in the summertime, and for potlucks, especially if there are vegetarians. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Totally great recipe. This is the first one I've tried on this site that I didn't tweak, I made it exactly as written. It was really yummy!! I would suggest to everyone to do it the night before you are serving it because the flavors really come together overnight. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy way for Black-Eye Pea Salad is to just get you a jar of salsa and mix to your own consistency and let sit in refrigerator for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love beans of any kind, but my family doesn't like them. I am always looking for ways to prepare beans that are simple and quick to prepare and easy to scale down to a serving or two. This fit the bill. I had to make a couple of substitutions as I made this spur of the moment and did not have a couple of the ingredients on hand...It was still yummy (I'm sure I would like it better as written:) I halved the recipe and used 1/2 can diced tomatoes instead of sun-dried because that is what I had. I used white onion instead of red and I had no feta so I substituted an Italian cheese blend. I ate this for lunch today with some rye crackers-Yummy and Filling. I cannot wait to go to the store and get some sun-dried tomatoes and feta (both which I LOVE) and try this again!!! Thanks for lunch:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this exactly as written and it is excellent, letting it marinade in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is SUPER delicious!!! I made this to go with our family New Year's Day brunch, and everyone was raving about it. I did have to make a few substitutions (out of necessity, not by choice), and it still turned out fantastic! I only had about half the sundried tomatoes the recipe calls for, I left out the bell pepper (a lot of relatives that HATE them), and I had to sub goat cheese for the feta because the store was out. I also used fresh beans that I soaked overnight, then simmered to al dente, and sprinkled with a liberal amount of kosher salt. Still, the final result was out of this world!! I would love to try it again with the feta and bells, but I can honestly say, this recipe is deserving of its 5 stars and I will most defiitely be making it again...often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This recipe is both excellent and easy to make! I used crumbled goat cheese i/o feta, and it turned out great. The spiciness of the red onion and green pepper is balanced by the hint of honey. This is a keeper in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States