Black-Eyed Pea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Holy Cow! This recipe made me a believer in black eyed peas! I made pretty much as called for in the recipie except for a previous reviewer suggestion to use a balsamic vinegar reduction -- to do this, I took a mid-quality balsamic and boiled it down to about 1/3 its original volume, and used the recipie amount of the concentrate. My New Year's Eve party guests LOVED the flavors - we used it as a dip with some very crisp rice crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe. The flavors, the colors, everything was great. I skimped on the feta (only used about 2 ounces) and the oil to cut down the fat. It still turned out great. This would be really nice with real tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
My sister in law makes a similiar recipe with red peppers and omits the honey. she also use the tomato basil feta cheese. We love this salad!!It is great for lunch-healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I had a package of steamed black-eyed peas that I didn't know what to do with, so I gave this recipe a try. It was delicious! I cut the recipe in half since I'm single, but I still used 1/2 an onion as 1/4 of an onion just wasn't enough. All the other ingredients I just cut in half. I also used oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, so I drained and chopped them without pouring the boiling water, since they were already quite soft. I used fat-free feta cheese to cut the calories a bit. Altogether this was a fantastic high-protein and very nutritious salad. Would be great for a light lunch or supper in the summertime, and for potlucks, especially if there are vegetarians. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Totally great recipe. This is the first one I've tried on this site that I didn't tweak, I made it exactly as written. It was really yummy!! I would suggest to everyone to do it the night before you are serving it because the flavors really come together overnight. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy way for Black-Eye Pea Salad is to just get you a jar of salsa and mix to your own consistency and let sit in refrigerator for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love beans of any kind, but my family doesn't like them. I am always looking for ways to prepare beans that are simple and quick to prepare and easy to scale down to a serving or two. This fit the bill. I had to make a couple of substitutions as I made this spur of the moment and did not have a couple of the ingredients on hand...It was still yummy (I'm sure I would like it better as written:) I halved the recipe and used 1/2 can diced tomatoes instead of sun-dried because that is what I had. I used white onion instead of red and I had no feta so I substituted an Italian cheese blend. I ate this for lunch today with some rye crackers-Yummy and Filling. I cannot wait to go to the store and get some sun-dried tomatoes and feta (both which I LOVE) and try this again!!! Thanks for lunch:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this exactly as written and it is excellent, letting it marinade in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is SUPER delicious!!! I made this to go with our family New Year's Day brunch, and everyone was raving about it. I did have to make a few substitutions (out of necessity, not by choice), and it still turned out fantastic! I only had about half the sundried tomatoes the recipe calls for, I left out the bell pepper (a lot of relatives that HATE them), and I had to sub goat cheese for the feta because the store was out. I also used fresh beans that I soaked overnight, then simmered to al dente, and sprinkled with a liberal amount of kosher salt. Still, the final result was out of this world!! I would love to try it again with the feta and bells, but I can honestly say, this recipe is deserving of its 5 stars and I will most defiitely be making it again...often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This recipe is both excellent and easy to make! I used crumbled goat cheese i/o feta, and it turned out great. The spiciness of the red onion and green pepper is balanced by the hint of honey. This is a keeper in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States