Black-Eyed Pea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Didn't have all the right ingreds. so I did what I could. Instead of black-eyed peas I used black beans - used Rotel instead of the sun-dried tomatoes and skipped the feta accidentally so I threw on some Parmesan. I also sauteed up a few cut up chicken breasts and threw in some brown rice. I thank you for the general idea - the dressing was fab. and we LOVED the salad I ended up with. I was going between this recipe and a salad I just had at The Cheesecake Factory. I think it ended up just as good! Totally appreciative!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this for New Year's Day 2011 - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this for New Years party. It was a huge success. Everyone has asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made for a New Year's bowl party in which I was going for a "lucky food" theme. Used jarred sundried tomatoes and refrigerated overnight. Followed another's suggestion and used a (3:1) balsamic reduction. The dish was well-received, however I thought the reduction made it a little too hearty. The flavors were good, and it was certainly easy to make! Would make again. Next time, if in winter, I'll use a 2:1 reduction. In summer when you're looking for light and refreshing, I'd recommend following the recipe re the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
this sounds awesome and am going to try it this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sounds like good salad! They do many similar salads like this in the Mediterranean, using white beans, pinto beans, black-eyed peas and even mung beans, almost the same as this but minus the cheese and usually fresh instead of dried tomato. But why not both... (The mung bean one is also really nicece, give it a try; you can substitute lemon juice for the vinegar too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is such a great recipe! I use fresh tomatoes, also drained whole kernal corn. Chopped fresh jalapeno adds flavor too. You can use Italian dressing if that sounds better to you. Easy recipe to customize and perfect if black eyed peas aren't your favorites. I think almost any fresh veggies would work in it. Make a day or two in advance if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love beans of any kind, but my family doesn't like them. I am always looking for ways to prepare beans that are simple and quick to prepare and easy to scale down to a serving or two. This fit the bill. I had to make a couple of substitutions as I made this spur of the moment and did not have a couple of the ingredients on hand...It was still yummy (I'm sure I would like it better as written:) I halved the recipe and used 1/2 can diced tomatoes instead of sun-dried because that is what I had. I used white onion instead of red and I had no feta so I substituted an Italian cheese blend. I ate this for lunch today with some rye crackers-Yummy and Filling. I cannot wait to go to the store and get some sun-dried tomatoes and feta (both which I LOVE) and try this again!!! Thanks for lunch:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Easy and great! I make this on a regular basis. It has so much flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States