Black-Eyed Pea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
What a great blend of flavors! Easy and tasty! I followed the recipe used onion powder instead of red. Excellent and was a big hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great recipe even the kids liked it. However I made a couple of changes. I used fresh tomatoes, half the honey, and 2 minced cloves of garlic. Didn't use feta as didn't have it in so made up some bacon bits. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe was so easy and everyone loved it - especially on day 2 after it had a chance to really marinate. I did use basil olive oil and celery instead of peppers - just what I had on hand. Since we're Greek, I skipped the feta (we have that on every salad)but I'll definitely include it if I take this to an office or neighborhood gathering. I was thinking of adding bacon next time - anyone tried that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Both myself and my husband, who is not a big veggie eater, loved this recipe! I had some extra fresh basil on hand that I tossed in, and it added a really nice flavor. I also made the following substitutions, based on what I had in my pantry: canned tomatoes for sun dried and agave nectar for honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
My husband and I love this so much we could eat it everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Not a fan, but it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashwitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Good but the onion was a bit overpowering for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I just finished making this and it already tastes amazing. I would make this again and again. Super easy and quick. No trouble at all. I used dried peas and soaked them over night, cooked them for an hour on the stove the next day until they were real tender and then soaked them in cold water to cool them off for the salad. Worked like a charm. The rest is in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was great. Light and refreshing if eaten immediately. More depth and richness if left to marinade. I used Gulden's mustard (because I love it!), spring onions (since they were growing in my garden and it's spring!), and a red sweet pepper for great color and taste. I didn't have feta, but I don't think it is missing it. I agree that it would be even richer with a reduced balsamic. I could see this also being tasty with some chopped basil, or a little oregano. The spring onion was nice for a crisp, light taste, but I think the red onion would be even better for a more complex taste. I could see myself making this salad a couple times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made the recipe as stated. A nice alternative to other Black-Eyed Pea recipes for New Year's. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States