Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
OMG! I added a generous sprinkle of cajun seasoning, a squirt of hot sauce and some smoked sausage, and it was absolutely delicious. Served it with cornbread, which absolutely put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I make this alot in the winter for my family. Only difference from the original recipe is that I use dry black eyed peas, that is soaked overnight, and add either a spicy Italian or bulk sausage, or some cubed ham, and a splash of liquid smoke. Fix up a castiron skillet of homemade cornbread and you got a meal! This will be a part of our New Year's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This gumbo is excellent. The flavor is perfect without all the spices other reviewers felt they needed to add. I did use two cans of rotel tomatoes (instead of one rotel, one regular diced tomatoes) and omitted the celery (not a fan). I added carrots for color. I also cooked it at very low heat for much longer than recipe indicated, which may have accounted for the rich flavor. This was a big hit....served with corn bread as suggested. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is a great wintertime dish. I prepared this dish for a family function that I was hosting. It was delicious. Everyone loved it. I added 3 cans of black-eyed peas instead of 4. I also added creole seasoning, salt and pepper, beef smoked sausages (cut into bite sized pieces) and a cup of cooked pasta to the recipe. I forgot to add the green peppers but it didn't matter because it was great without it. My husband advised me that this is a "keeper." Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. We will enjoy it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow! This was good. And healthy, which is always nice. I only added the can of tomatoes with jalapenos, not the plain can of tomatos. Instead, I added a box of frozen okra. I also added a tablespoon of creole seasoning mix (from this website) and some salt. Also about 2 cups of extra water. Mmm, mmm, good! I served it with Texas Spoonbread (yet another recipe from this site). We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I am always looking for healthy recipes that my 3 and 5 year olds, my husband, and I will like, and this was a hit for all! I did add turkey kielbasa a the end, and next time, I will not cook the onion, celery, and peppers with the rice (they got too mushy). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
As is, this recipe is very bland and that's even after we added a ham hock during the cooking. However, once we added Tabasco, Worcestershire sauce, and salt it was pretty good. Definitely needs additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is definitely easy and delicious. We like it a little less spicy, so I used more regular diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes with chilies, and added chili powder to spice it up to where we wanted it. We loved the rice in it, and it was great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Good, but I had to add spices-- I added 2 tsp of Creole seasoning and 1 tsp of cayenne, but that was too much cayenne, so if I were to do it again, I'd do half. I had some dried black eyed peas to use instead, so I soaked them for 4 hours and then simmered them for around 45 minutes before making the gumbo. Since I didn't have the liquid from the cans to use, I doubled the chicken broth. The end result was seriously spicy, but filling and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Very good...used 1 can of onion pepper diced tomatoes and 1 can tomatoes with zesty jalepenos and substituted vegetarian broth for chiken broth. I couldn't find black eyed peas in a can -- bought frozen instead. To my husband's dish, I added mexican sausage browned in some oil. My veggie version was good and he found his sausage version quite yummy too. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States