Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Following tradition, I made this for New Years Day for my Kids and Husband. They usually never eat Black-eyed Peas. They loved it! I changed slightly by adding a can of corn and smoked turkey. This recipe will be a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added two pkgs of smoked sausage and a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. Yum! Even my picky daughter liked it, though she thought it was spicy. (I'm assuming from the green chilies in the tomatoes.) My hubby and boys added hot sauce and pepper to theirs. I think a few teaspoons of bacon bits next time will really kick it into overdrive. Oh, I also used a 16oz. bag of frozen black eyed peas, long grain white rice instead of the brown, and threw it all in the crockpot on low before I went to work. Outstanding and it only took me 10 minutes to assemble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This dish is sooo good. I added some uncle johns sausage. I like mild but you could use hot. I cut them on angles and cooked them separate. I removed as much grease as possible with a paper towel than added to gumbo. Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I used dry black-eyed peas. First I put a smoked shank in my crock pot and cook it most of the day until it falls off the bone. I then wash and soak the black-eyed peas all night so it's ready to cook the next day. I turn on the crockpot and cook the peas and shank for a couple hours, I then take out the shank and bones and discard the bones and fat. I put the meat back in along with kilbasa sausage, browned onion, celery, green pepper and garlic. I added chicken broth granuals, 1 can diced tomatoes. I then added a little cajun seasoning called 'Slap Ya Mama' along with a little pepper. I made white rice on the side to add in as desired. The entire crockpot was gone in a couple hours. When I first told my family what I was making they thought it sounded nasty but they are already asking when I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this and it took Black-Eyed Peas to a whole new dimension! Great for giving those Peas a "makeover" and bring back the romance with this vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made this the other day and loved it(so did My husband). The only change I made, actually an addition, was sauteeing some sliced smoked chicken and apple sausage and adding it to the gumbo. Very tasty dish and full of nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I normally follow the recipe exactly as provided ... but I did not use the liquid from the beans, added an extra cup of chicken broth, and didn't add the tomatoes with chilies and served with shredded cheese. A friend who doesn't even like black-eyed peas LOVED it! i think whatever tweaks you make will probably be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I scaled and down to 3 and rounded things up and down a little to use whole tins, so less beans more tomato - i had to use a jalapeno sauce in place of green chills in tomatoes but it tasted great all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe has all the ingredients that I love so I had to try it. I'm always looking for healthy, low sodium and low fat soups that taste great for my lunch. To make this more of a soup I used 32 ozs fat free, reduced sodium chicken broth. I ouny had 2 cans of black eyed peas on hand. I used no salt diced tomatoes and "hot" Rotel. Near the end of simmering I added 2 bay leaves and 1/4 cup dried parsley. Even with the added chicken broth this still came out thick. A bowl of this soup, piece of fruit and a big glass of ice water and you have a perfect lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious! We all liked. Easy. I added a couple more cloves of garlic then it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States