Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. We love our black eyed peas. The next time I make it I will only use 1/2 cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I added a lot of creole seasoning to this, along with black pepper and it was a lot better. Took out the rice and made it soupier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Makes a massive amount of food. Thought that the flavor was way too bland without some serious cajun seasoning and hot pepper addition. Probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I added chicken breast and fresh okra. Turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
really liked this. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used dried black-eyed peas instead of canned. Not sure if that was the reason, but this took forever to cook - about an hour longer than the recipe called for. Still, it was worth the wait. So yummy and healthy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was GREAT!!!! Like others suggested I too added cajun seasoning (1tsp of zatarain's blackened seasoning to be exact) and sausage. I also decided at the last minute to add some frozen okra, just because it sounded good :) without the sausage this recipe is only 7 weight watchers points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Add 28 oz hot smoked sausage by hillshire farm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Definately a keeper! I added some cajun seasoning and hot sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Made this for a Mardi Gras potluck at work and it was a hit! We already had a rice dish so I omitted the rice and then added about 1 TBSP of sea salt for flavor. I also used dry beans (vs. canned). Didn't think it needed other flavor besides a little salt however a few shakes of hot sauce adds extra yum. This is a great low-cal and high protein/fiber meal, too. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYBECCA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States