Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was absolutely delicious, and very simple to make. The only ingredient changes I made were to use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and to add salt and pepper near the end of the cooking time. I simmered it for longer than the recipe calls for, as my rice was still hard at the end of the specified cooking time. This is my first time cooking with black eyed peas and it will definitely become a New Years Day tradition in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe, I make this every year for news years dinner. Thinly thing I do different is add okra to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This dish was a hit during thanksgiving dinner. Next time, I will add meat for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We are meat eaters but try to incorporate vegetarian meals into our diet frequently. This is a fantastic recipe to accomplish this with. Incredibly healthy, gets protein from the black eyed peas and plenty of vegetables with very little fat. All of that said, it still turns out very tasty and can actually make you forget that you're not eating a traditional meat heavy gumbo...almost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOEDAN
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was GREAT! I add kielbasa and a little ground black pepper. I am writing this review as I eat it with BEER BREAD! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was good. Spouse and kids ate it but weren't too excited. Perhaps it is because we just don't love black-eyed peas enough! I will try making it again, although I think adding some fresh corn will add a little sweetness and crunch, and my husband said he thought I should sub some of the black-eyed peas with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I substituted one can of Ro Tel and added sliced andouille sausage with the onions. Was fabulous. Keeps great in a freezer bag for the most amazing left-overs. Must serve with corn bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I actually made this today! I was in the grocery store ( Publix) and wanted something easy, healthy and good to eat. The dish was so good to me. I'm a fan of black eyed peas. Therefore I felt I couldn't go wrong. I made it exactly as recipe called for. It wasn't spicy,but my family don't really eat salty or spicy food. This was great for us. The flavors of the onion and the celery came together nicely. Since I have a vegan in the family I didn't add meat to the pan, but as a single dish for one other family member. I added italian turkey sausage to a single dish and it was superb! I will make this dish again. I tried to add my photo but maybe it was too large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
One of our favorite winter recipes. Always make it for New Years Day. Add ham bone to it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was an excellent recipe with a few modifications. I used dried beans instead of canned, tripled the garlic and added salt, chili powder, cholula, cumin and turmeric. I also threw in some chorizo, though it would have been just as good without it. We ate it with both cornbread and fried plantain, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States