Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I cooked the onion, celery, and green pepper on the stove, and browned a pound of jimmy dean sausage. I then transferred the vegatables and sausage to a 5qt crock pot. Then I added 2 cans of black eyed peas, and the rest of the ingredients. Finally, I added a bit of brown sugar to cut down on the tomato acid, and a few shakes of creole seasoning for heat. What a wonderful winter evening meal. The fresh baked corn bread and white wine topped it off perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good! My whole family enjoyed this! I felt it could have used a bit more rice, but that's just me. I served this with cornbread and it was delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
DELICIOUS! I did add some hot sauce and cajun seasoning as suggested by other reviews. It was perfect on this cold winter day. I served this with cheddar bay biscuits (also from this site). Thank you for this wonderful new recipe that I will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by appletini864
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I am sitting here eating now! I added turkey sausage to the recipe. I didn't realize how much this recipe would make but I'm grateful as we are supposed to get snow tomorrow. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appletini864

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I tweaked recipe because of lack of ingredients & still turned out great, I used 2 cans black-eyed peas, 2 cans cannelini beans, 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes & 4 oz can of whole green chiles, which I chopped. Also added one more cup of broth. Everyone loved it. Easy to make & use what you have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Merged these ingredients with the instructions for Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Good, but missing 'something'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I used water instead of chicken broth, and served the beans over rice instead of cooking the beans and rice together. Good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made this for a New Years Day gathering and it was a big hit! I used frozen black eyed peas and increased the amount of of broth to keep it moist. To give it a little flavor I put a few pieces of bacon in while it was simmering and removed them before serving. This is an excellent cold day lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
A great base recipe! Served it for New Year's with Absolute Mexican Cornbread (from this site) and collard greens ~ was a huge it! Ended up draining the beans and adding extra stock. Also used a 28-ounce can of fire-roasted tomatoes and a 4-ounce can of diced green chilies instead. Added 1 Tbsp. of Tony Chachere's Lite Creole Seasoning, some fresh ground black pepper, sea salt, a little extra water and then some file (sassafras leaves) on top before serving. Next time I'll probably make a roux and add some okra. Tasted even better the 2nd day ~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States