Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
A great base recipe! Served it for New Year's with Absolute Mexican Cornbread (from this site) and collard greens ~ was a huge it! Ended up draining the beans and adding extra stock. Also used a 28-ounce can of fire-roasted tomatoes and a 4-ounce can of diced green chilies instead. Added 1 Tbsp. of Tony Chachere's Lite Creole Seasoning, some fresh ground black pepper, sea salt, a little extra water and then some file (sassafras leaves) on top before serving. Next time I'll probably make a roux and add some okra. Tasted even better the 2nd day ~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was my first attempt at gumbo and it turned out awesome. Easy, nice and spicy, but the 8-year old still loved it. We traded one can of black-eyed peas for garbonzo beans and added chicken sausage. I'm sure it would have tasted just fine unmodified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcorring

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!! I used turkey links (sliced) instead. I will make this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is SO good! I added some Creole seasoning and served with cornbread, and it was so delicious! It makes a lot and was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Easy & Healthy & Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I needed to make several subsitutions: 1. Could not find canned black eyed peas so I used a 1lb bag of dried beans boiled in 6.5 cups of water until tender (about 45 minutes). It turns out to be about 3 cans worth, so I added 2 cups of frozen sweet corn in lieu of the fourth can (for great flavor and texture too). 2. Like other people mentioned, this recipe came out too thick, thicker than most chili's I've had. Instead of all the diced tomatoes, I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes. In addition, I wound up adding about 2 cups of extra liquid (beef broth is what I had) to thin the gumbo out just a little. 3. Forgot to buy celery so I omitted that, I used 3 cloves of garlic because you can never have enough, and I used barley instead of brown rice (great texture!). 4. Finally, I added about 1 Tbsp of hot pepper sauce (Sriracha is my favorite) which added a ton of flavor and just a touch of spice. I then add a few dashes to each bowl I eat since I can handle more spice. Otherwise, this recipe made a ton of food! Make sure you have some freezer space or plan to eat it for a few nights. An excellent nutritious and filling meal served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I changed it pretty substantially - but we loved it.....I used three cans of rotel, 4 cans of peas, one full carton chicken broth (in the cardboard container it's probably 32 oz) sauteed my onion, pepper, celery, garlic and two lbs smoked sausage in olive oil then poured in the peas with liquid,rotel and simmered down for about 20 minutes......I had already prepared chicken flavor rice-a-roni from a previous dinner and probably had about 2 cups left....I stirred this in and sprinkled with creole seasoning (no msg kind)....I didn't add any other seasoning to it.....it had the right amount of heat and I think the rice-a-roni really added a nice flavor to the rest of the soup and helped to thicken it....I then simmered another 20 minutes until it was as thick as we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very delicious. Great on a cold day. We had it for New Years and I think we will make it a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious exactly as prepared to instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ghiggins
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used dried peas instead of canned, so had to add considerably more liquid. Also added crumbled bacon and 1/4 pound diced ham. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghiggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States