Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnk.kiefer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I cooked the onion, celery, and green pepper on the stove, and browned a pound of jimmy dean sausage. I then transferred the vegatables and sausage to a 5qt crock pot. Then I added 2 cans of black eyed peas, and the rest of the ingredients. Finally, I added a bit of brown sugar to cut down on the tomato acid, and a few shakes of creole seasoning for heat. What a wonderful winter evening meal. The fresh baked corn bread and white wine topped it off perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good! My whole family enjoyed this! I felt it could have used a bit more rice, but that's just me. I served this with cornbread and it was delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
DELICIOUS! I did add some hot sauce and cajun seasoning as suggested by other reviews. It was perfect on this cold winter day. I served this with cheddar bay biscuits (also from this site). Thank you for this wonderful new recipe that I will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by appletini864
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I am sitting here eating now! I added turkey sausage to the recipe. I didn't realize how much this recipe would make but I'm grateful as we are supposed to get snow tomorrow. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appletini864

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I tweaked recipe because of lack of ingredients & still turned out great, I used 2 cans black-eyed peas, 2 cans cannelini beans, 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes & 4 oz can of whole green chiles, which I chopped. Also added one more cup of broth. Everyone loved it. Easy to make & use what you have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Merged these ingredients with the instructions for Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Good, but missing 'something'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I used water instead of chicken broth, and served the beans over rice instead of cooking the beans and rice together. Good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made this for a New Years Day gathering and it was a big hit! I used frozen black eyed peas and increased the amount of of broth to keep it moist. To give it a little flavor I put a few pieces of bacon in while it was simmering and removed them before serving. This is an excellent cold day lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States