Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was excellent and very easy to make. We added jalapenos and some Tony's seasoning but other than that, followed the recipe as written. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This sounds very good. Haven't tried it yet. But I always thought gumbo had okra in it. No
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d3
Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I really loved how easy this dish was to make. The taste was great but I did add tabasco sauce carrots and ham cubes. Chicken would also taste good with this and corn bread. I added more seasonings to bring out the zing but overall loved it! Happy New Year! 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
OK, does anyone beside me see that there is corn and sausage in the picture, but not in the recipe? I added both and it is yummy. Gotta have black eyed peas on New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A new New Years Day tradition. I used one 28 oz can of Rotel instead of the 2 cans of tomatoes this recipe called for and I added a quart of frozen okra. I also served it over rice instead of cooking the rice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this as written, except I added a ring of beef smoked sausage sliced 1/4" thick. Tasty, yet I will add cajun seasoning next time. Also, I had to simmer at least an hour to soften the brown rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is GREAT! Thank you for the recipe. Taking a cue from other reviewers, I added smoked sausage (browned that first, then removed and did the onion/celery/peppers in the same pot to flavor them - returned it when adding the stock and other ingredients). Used two cans of plain tomatoes (no salt added) then put in some hot peppers and some creole seasoning - about 3/4 t. Cheated and used Uncle Ben's Ready Rice (brown) in the pouch so just heated that and put it in the bowl before putting the gumbo on top of it. Also used Pearson's black eyed peas from produce section in lieu of canned - just boiled them 10min as per instructions on package. Served with cornbread and it was a wonderful New Year's lunch. Thank you for sharing this!!! Going to be a tradition now, but of course will want to do more than once a year...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very misleading calling this gumbo. Gumbo means Okra in Swahili. There is no okra in this recipe. Must have okra to be a true gumbo. I would call it a black eyed pea stew. Tastes good though .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My dad is a firm believer that you must have black eyed peas on News Years Day to bring yourself plenty of good luck in the new year! So I have been making this recipe for us for the last several years, and in fact have a pot simmering away on the stove right now. This is a hearty and filling gumbo, and I've found that I've only had to make a couple of minor additions to suit my taste. Today I threw in a ham hock while the gumbo cooked to give it a heartier and meatier taste, but in the past I have also added turkey sausage or kielbasa. Since I enjoy a little kick to my soups, I also added 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1 tsp. Cajun seasoning. This is just the right amount for me without going overboard. If my tastebuds hanker for a little extra zing, a couple of shakes of Tabasco will do the trick. A fantastic side to this gumbo is Mexican cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Needs a bit more oomph - so added green beans (okra would also be good, but I don't have any - would keep with the New Orleans theme). Here in the UK, we don't have tins of tomatores with green chiles in them in many places, so I just added my own fresh chiles. Also took the advice of adding Worcestershire and Tabasco as my family love spicy food. Love the brown rice (mine was basmati). A good, basic dish that is easy to prepare and as it relies on a lot of store cupboard ingredients, is pretty straightforward. Substituted veg stock for chicken to keep the dish vegetarian (we're trying to each more veg meals in 2012). Can you please fix measures in brackets, as this makes it confusing for non US people following the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States