Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! Made today for New Year's good luck. Husband does not like B.E. peas but thought this looked good in the slow cooker. He tried it and ate 2 bowls full. I sauted onion, celery, red and green pepper and dumped in to 4 qt. cooker w/ 3 cans peas, minced garlic, 28 oz. petite dice tomatoes & 4 oz. green chilis. Did NOT cook rice w/ peas, so omitted chk. broth. Cooked on hi 2 hours, then low 3 hours. During last 30 minutes or so, turned to hi & added 2c. sliced frozen (thawed)okra and 1/2 lb. sliced smoked turkey sauage that I had browned. Served over white rice with a side of hot cornbread. Everyone at lunch deemed this to be a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this today, to celebrate New Years Day. It tasted great! I did not add any meat, but I think that adding meat would make the recipe excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was excellent and very easy to make. We added jalapenos and some Tony's seasoning but other than that, followed the recipe as written. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This sounds very good. Haven't tried it yet. But I always thought gumbo had okra in it. No
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d3
Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I really loved how easy this dish was to make. The taste was great but I did add tabasco sauce carrots and ham cubes. Chicken would also taste good with this and corn bread. I added more seasonings to bring out the zing but overall loved it! Happy New Year! 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
OK, does anyone beside me see that there is corn and sausage in the picture, but not in the recipe? I added both and it is yummy. Gotta have black eyed peas on New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A new New Years Day tradition. I used one 28 oz can of Rotel instead of the 2 cans of tomatoes this recipe called for and I added a quart of frozen okra. I also served it over rice instead of cooking the rice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this as written, except I added a ring of beef smoked sausage sliced 1/4" thick. Tasty, yet I will add cajun seasoning next time. Also, I had to simmer at least an hour to soften the brown rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is GREAT! Thank you for the recipe. Taking a cue from other reviewers, I added smoked sausage (browned that first, then removed and did the onion/celery/peppers in the same pot to flavor them - returned it when adding the stock and other ingredients). Used two cans of plain tomatoes (no salt added) then put in some hot peppers and some creole seasoning - about 3/4 t. Cheated and used Uncle Ben's Ready Rice (brown) in the pouch so just heated that and put it in the bowl before putting the gumbo on top of it. Also used Pearson's black eyed peas from produce section in lieu of canned - just boiled them 10min as per instructions on package. Served with cornbread and it was a wonderful New Year's lunch. Thank you for sharing this!!! Going to be a tradition now, but of course will want to do more than once a year...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very misleading calling this gumbo. Gumbo means Okra in Swahili. There is no okra in this recipe. Must have okra to be a true gumbo. I would call it a black eyed pea stew. Tastes good though .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States