Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this for New Year's Day. Changed a few things for what I had on hand. Used orzo in place of brown rice, water in place of chicken broth (added some extra seasonings) and carrot in place of celery, used one can of back-eyed peas and one can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a "baby, it's cold outside and I'm hungry" recipe for anyone who has spent time in the chilly temps and needs warming from the inside out! I followed the recipe with the exception of subbing the can of diced tomatoes for a can of tomatoes and okra, which gave the soup a real gumbo effect. Added a bit of salt and pepper as I do everything I cook, served with a loaf of AR's Amish White Bread and we had a perfect meal. Super easy to prepare, ingredients you have on hand lots of flavor and sticktoitiveness!! Will gladly do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
First, if there's no okra in a recipe, it's not a gumbo, just a stew. That said, this was far too bland for my taste. It's just missing the taste one normally gets from using a good homemade roux and adding the okra to thicken along with gumbo file (ground sassafras) at the end. To me this was nothing more than a "soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I served this at an informal party and it was a big hit. I did add salt and may try some Cajun seasoning as well next time, but it was really tasty as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Brought this to a new years potluck and it was a hit! The recipe as is was good, but I added a lb. of beef sausage and a Tbl. of creole seasoning which put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe for black-eyed peas. I'm not usually a fan of them, but thought I'd give this a try for New Year's Day. I only used 3 cans of black-eyed peas instead of the 4 called for, and I also added some andouille sausage. Great flavors without adding any spices. I'll keep this for next New Year's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this recipe as written but added chicken. It was very good. Will try it again with other ingredients, like shrimp, sausage and okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious and very easy to make!!!! I added old bay, hot sauce and turkey sausage to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! Made today for New Year's good luck. Husband does not like B.E. peas but thought this looked good in the slow cooker. He tried it and ate 2 bowls full. I sauted onion, celery, red and green pepper and dumped in to 4 qt. cooker w/ 3 cans peas, minced garlic, 28 oz. petite dice tomatoes & 4 oz. green chilis. Did NOT cook rice w/ peas, so omitted chk. broth. Cooked on hi 2 hours, then low 3 hours. During last 30 minutes or so, turned to hi & added 2c. sliced frozen (thawed)okra and 1/2 lb. sliced smoked turkey sauage that I had browned. Served over white rice with a side of hot cornbread. Everyone at lunch deemed this to be a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this today, to celebrate New Years Day. It tasted great! I did not add any meat, but I think that adding meat would make the recipe excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States