Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
First, if there's no okra in a recipe, it's not a gumbo, just a stew. That said, this was far too bland for my taste. It's just missing the taste one normally gets from using a good homemade roux and adding the okra to thicken along with gumbo file (ground sassafras) at the end. To me this was nothing more than a "soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I served this at an informal party and it was a big hit. I did add salt and may try some Cajun seasoning as well next time, but it was really tasty as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Brought this to a new years potluck and it was a hit! The recipe as is was good, but I added a lb. of beef sausage and a Tbl. of creole seasoning which put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe for black-eyed peas. I'm not usually a fan of them, but thought I'd give this a try for New Year's Day. I only used 3 cans of black-eyed peas instead of the 4 called for, and I also added some andouille sausage. Great flavors without adding any spices. I'll keep this for next New Year's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this recipe as written but added chicken. It was very good. Will try it again with other ingredients, like shrimp, sausage and okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious and very easy to make!!!! I added old bay, hot sauce and turkey sausage to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! Made today for New Year's good luck. Husband does not like B.E. peas but thought this looked good in the slow cooker. He tried it and ate 2 bowls full. I sauted onion, celery, red and green pepper and dumped in to 4 qt. cooker w/ 3 cans peas, minced garlic, 28 oz. petite dice tomatoes & 4 oz. green chilis. Did NOT cook rice w/ peas, so omitted chk. broth. Cooked on hi 2 hours, then low 3 hours. During last 30 minutes or so, turned to hi & added 2c. sliced frozen (thawed)okra and 1/2 lb. sliced smoked turkey sauage that I had browned. Served over white rice with a side of hot cornbread. Everyone at lunch deemed this to be a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this today, to celebrate New Years Day. It tasted great! I did not add any meat, but I think that adding meat would make the recipe excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was excellent and very easy to make. We added jalapenos and some Tony's seasoning but other than that, followed the recipe as written. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This sounds very good. Haven't tried it yet. But I always thought gumbo had okra in it. No
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d3
Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States