Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Added andouille sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Really good! I love everything in this recipe, so it was a no-brainer for me. I changed it a little: used 28oz Rotel instead of any plain diced tomatoes and didn't cook rice in it. I served it on baked potatoes with garlic bread on the side. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a real "stick to your ribs" dish. Omitted the celery, as we don't care for it, and added a ring of spicy sausage link, and 1/2 small can of jalapeños. Otherwise made as directed and was wonderful! Am going to make again soon. JD The Old Cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J D

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe! I did add my own spices n left over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
In all fairness, I've never had gumbo before. I had no idea something could be so vile and bland at the same time. The combination of ingredients was just putrid and odd tasting. If you like gumbo, this might work for you. If you've never tried gumbo, I would highly recommend you try it first before making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Recipe was great. A few things I changed.. I used real butter instead of olive oil. I added bacon, garlic salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I also used canned black eyed peas with jalapenos. This was my first time making black eyed peas and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Oh my yum! LOVED this! Just made this but tweaked it a bit (like others suggested)..added turkey kielbasa, okra, cajun seasoning, and hot sauce. Did not use the green pepper or garlic because my hubby doesn't like them. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Thank you for sharing the recipe ?? I made this for New Year's Day and I added garlic, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, Frank's Buffalo Wing Sauce, liquid smoke, & cayenne pepper. It was yummy ?? Next time I'm gonna add jalepenos. I'll add jalepenos next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good. I thought people might be interested in how I modified for the pressure cooker. I only had dry BEPs, and I forgot to soak them in advance, so I followed directions in a pressure cooker cookbook. I placed the dried BEPs in the pressure cooker and topped with water about 1" over the BEPs. (This also helped any debris float to the top, which I skimmed off.) Heated to high pressure then cooked 5 minutes. After depressurizing the beans were completely soft! Next, since I had already dirtied the pressure cooker I decided to just make the whole recipe that way. Only a couple modifications - I added a chopped Anaheim pepper to the celery & onion mixture, because I had one. Because of that I used plain diced tomatoes, and only 1 can. Also I doubled the garlic. Finally, I used about 4 times as much chicken broth, since so much steams off in the pressure cooker. I cooked it under high pressure for about 9 minutes. We added salt at the table - would be good with Tabasco as well. Served with cornbread as recommended. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States