Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We are meat eaters but try to incorporate vegetarian meals into our diet frequently. This is a fantastic recipe to accomplish this with. Incredibly healthy, gets protein from the black eyed peas and plenty of vegetables with very little fat. All of that said, it still turns out very tasty and can actually make you forget that you're not eating a traditional meat heavy gumbo...almost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOEDAN
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was GREAT! I add kielbasa and a little ground black pepper. I am writing this review as I eat it with BEER BREAD! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was good. Spouse and kids ate it but weren't too excited. Perhaps it is because we just don't love black-eyed peas enough! I will try making it again, although I think adding some fresh corn will add a little sweetness and crunch, and my husband said he thought I should sub some of the black-eyed peas with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I substituted one can of Ro Tel and added sliced andouille sausage with the onions. Was fabulous. Keeps great in a freezer bag for the most amazing left-overs. Must serve with corn bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I actually made this today! I was in the grocery store ( Publix) and wanted something easy, healthy and good to eat. The dish was so good to me. I'm a fan of black eyed peas. Therefore I felt I couldn't go wrong. I made it exactly as recipe called for. It wasn't spicy,but my family don't really eat salty or spicy food. This was great for us. The flavors of the onion and the celery came together nicely. Since I have a vegan in the family I didn't add meat to the pan, but as a single dish for one other family member. I added italian turkey sausage to a single dish and it was superb! I will make this dish again. I tried to add my photo but maybe it was too large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
One of our favorite winter recipes. Always make it for New Years Day. Add ham bone to it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was an excellent recipe with a few modifications. I used dried beans instead of canned, tripled the garlic and added salt, chili powder, cholula, cumin and turmeric. I also threw in some chorizo, though it would have been just as good without it. We ate it with both cornbread and fried plantain, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good soup recipe. Next time I will spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This first time gumbo eater was well pleased. Next time i will remember to scale down. Followed exactly and made enough for my family of four for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
UPDATE: I made this again using two cans of rotel (one hot rotel,) and a little cayenne pepper and it was too hot to eat! Don't do this! Still love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States