Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ZOEDAN
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was GREAT! I add kielbasa and a little ground black pepper. I am writing this review as I eat it with BEER BREAD! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was good. Spouse and kids ate it but weren't too excited. Perhaps it is because we just don't love black-eyed peas enough! I will try making it again, although I think adding some fresh corn will add a little sweetness and crunch, and my husband said he thought I should sub some of the black-eyed peas with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I substituted one can of Ro Tel and added sliced andouille sausage with the onions. Was fabulous. Keeps great in a freezer bag for the most amazing left-overs. Must serve with corn bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I actually made this today! I was in the grocery store ( Publix) and wanted something easy, healthy and good to eat. The dish was so good to me. I'm a fan of black eyed peas. Therefore I felt I couldn't go wrong. I made it exactly as recipe called for. It wasn't spicy,but my family don't really eat salty or spicy food. This was great for us. The flavors of the onion and the celery came together nicely. Since I have a vegan in the family I didn't add meat to the pan, but as a single dish for one other family member. I added italian turkey sausage to a single dish and it was superb! I will make this dish again. I tried to add my photo but maybe it was too large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
One of our favorite winter recipes. Always make it for New Years Day. Add ham bone to it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was an excellent recipe with a few modifications. I used dried beans instead of canned, tripled the garlic and added salt, chili powder, cholula, cumin and turmeric. I also threw in some chorizo, though it would have been just as good without it. We ate it with both cornbread and fried plantain, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good soup recipe. Next time I will spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This first time gumbo eater was well pleased. Next time i will remember to scale down. Followed exactly and made enough for my family of four for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
UPDATE: I made this again using two cans of rotel (one hot rotel,) and a little cayenne pepper and it was too hot to eat! Don't do this! Still love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am a football caoch and this is the best meal an athelete could eat before a game! complex carbs and I add smoked sausage and shrimp to it for an additional portein base. all of the mom's and players love it! Thanks for the inspiration! mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States