Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A new New Years Day tradition. I used one 28 oz can of Rotel instead of the 2 cans of tomatoes this recipe called for and I added a quart of frozen okra. I also served it over rice instead of cooking the rice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this as written, except I added a ring of beef smoked sausage sliced 1/4" thick. Tasty, yet I will add cajun seasoning next time. Also, I had to simmer at least an hour to soften the brown rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is GREAT! Thank you for the recipe. Taking a cue from other reviewers, I added smoked sausage (browned that first, then removed and did the onion/celery/peppers in the same pot to flavor them - returned it when adding the stock and other ingredients). Used two cans of plain tomatoes (no salt added) then put in some hot peppers and some creole seasoning - about 3/4 t. Cheated and used Uncle Ben's Ready Rice (brown) in the pouch so just heated that and put it in the bowl before putting the gumbo on top of it. Also used Pearson's black eyed peas from produce section in lieu of canned - just boiled them 10min as per instructions on package. Served with cornbread and it was a wonderful New Year's lunch. Thank you for sharing this!!! Going to be a tradition now, but of course will want to do more than once a year...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very misleading calling this gumbo. Gumbo means Okra in Swahili. There is no okra in this recipe. Must have okra to be a true gumbo. I would call it a black eyed pea stew. Tastes good though .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My dad is a firm believer that you must have black eyed peas on News Years Day to bring yourself plenty of good luck in the new year! So I have been making this recipe for us for the last several years, and in fact have a pot simmering away on the stove right now. This is a hearty and filling gumbo, and I've found that I've only had to make a couple of minor additions to suit my taste. Today I threw in a ham hock while the gumbo cooked to give it a heartier and meatier taste, but in the past I have also added turkey sausage or kielbasa. Since I enjoy a little kick to my soups, I also added 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1 tsp. Cajun seasoning. This is just the right amount for me without going overboard. If my tastebuds hanker for a little extra zing, a couple of shakes of Tabasco will do the trick. A fantastic side to this gumbo is Mexican cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Needs a bit more oomph - so added green beans (okra would also be good, but I don't have any - would keep with the New Orleans theme). Here in the UK, we don't have tins of tomatores with green chiles in them in many places, so I just added my own fresh chiles. Also took the advice of adding Worcestershire and Tabasco as my family love spicy food. Love the brown rice (mine was basmati). A good, basic dish that is easy to prepare and as it relies on a lot of store cupboard ingredients, is pretty straightforward. Substituted veg stock for chicken to keep the dish vegetarian (we're trying to each more veg meals in 2012). Can you please fix measures in brackets, as this makes it confusing for non US people following the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Super easy and yummy! Served it for New Years and loved it. I made a few minor modifications. I added two bay leaves, a ¼ cup of ketchup, plenty of hot sauce, and topped each serving with fresh chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Per other reviews, I added some cajun spices and hot sauce as well. For those who thought it was missing something, add a 1/4 c brown sugar. It brings out the spices. I made with ham, but can't wait to try andoulle sausage next time. Also, I had only canned tomatoes with oregano and basil in it. You could also use some canned salsa you don't quite care for as salsa! I did not have peppers and was too lazy to go to the store, so maybe that was my 'needed something else' complaint, but that was my own fault. EXCELLENT base recipe! So many ways to tweek it to what you have in the pantry! Glad I stubbled across this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
this turned out great last year I dont like the over powering taste that black eye peas have so I cooked them separate then added them to the everything else in the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
4 1/2: pretty tasty. added the cajun spice (1T) and smoked sausage. didn't use can diced. added extra cup chicken broth. used 2 cans mix (black-eyed peas, jalapeno, tomato) - should use maybe one of those and 3 regular peas. Little spicy this way for K's taste - just about right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States