Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is a good starter recipe. I don't usually add things to the recipes before I rate them, but I did have to add things to this because the flavor was bland. I took the suggestions of a lot people who added things. I added smoked sausage, worcestershire sauce, a little more garlic, soft cooked bacon, bay leaf, paprika, himalayan sea salt, black pepper, chili powder, mushrooms. The sausage realllyyyyy needs to be added. It makes it so much tastier. To me there are way too many tomatoes in this recipe, but that may just be my taste. They seemed to overpower the recipe. I took some out as it began cooking. I put in the one can of diced tomatoes, and only added 1/2 the can of tomatoes with green chilis because with stomach issues, food can't be too spicy. Added 2 tablespoons brown sugar as someone else suggested to lower the acid of the tomatoes. I left out the rice altogether, and cooked it for nearly 3 hours on the stove top. It's still a great recipe, and I do thank the person for posting it, just had to add my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
not very good. Will not make again. Bland and the black eyed peas overpowered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by KaleyADPi
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made pretty much exactly according to the recipe except I used 2 frozen bags of vegetables (celery, onion, and bell pepper medley). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Mh family nsaid it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mhansmann
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I liked it a lot, very easy to prepare and without that much of spices it tasted delicious! I had to make some changes/adaptations because of the ingredients I had and didn´t. I didn´t use de can of pepper and tomato and instead used 2 peppers, instead of the canned tomatoes, I used a natural tomatoe and the rice wasn´t the brown one. I think a bit of chorizo, sausage or smoked ham with give that extra kick! Definitely will try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe is so good! I substituted veggie broth instead the chicken broth and also added in half of an extremely ripe jalapeno. It just kept getting better with each day that it had time so soak up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ritzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Everyone loved it, even Aaron and William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Added Cajun seasoning and some sausage yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I agree that this was very bland. I used soaked and rinsed dry beans, so I added another 2 cups of broth. Also added 1/2 tsp creole seasoning and two cut-up Italian sausages. It's a hearty base, but it needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States