Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used dried black-eyed peas instead of canned. Not sure if that was the reason, but this took forever to cook - about an hour longer than the recipe called for. Still, it was worth the wait. So yummy and healthy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was GREAT!!!! Like others suggested I too added cajun seasoning (1tsp of zatarain's blackened seasoning to be exact) and sausage. I also decided at the last minute to add some frozen okra, just because it sounded good :) without the sausage this recipe is only 7 weight watchers points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Add 28 oz hot smoked sausage by hillshire farm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Definately a keeper! I added some cajun seasoning and hot sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Made this for a Mardi Gras potluck at work and it was a hit! We already had a rice dish so I omitted the rice and then added about 1 TBSP of sea salt for flavor. I also used dry beans (vs. canned). Didn't think it needed other flavor besides a little salt however a few shakes of hot sauce adds extra yum. This is a great low-cal and high protein/fiber meal, too. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYBECCA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good! Perfect for new years. I added some cajun spice just cause I like it spicy but it would have tasted fine without it too. I also simmered it longer than the recipe called for and that seemed to really bring out the flavor. Defiantly making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
it was very tasty, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen.of.Tarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Excellent flavor. I used precooked rice so that it wouldn't take 45minutes. Instead, it was ready in twenty. Perfect for a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My daughter requests this recipe frequently....as it is bland as I have read in some reviews, we add several splashes of Tabasco sauce to taste and with that it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
What is Gumbo without OKRA! That is what I added to make this recipe good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States