Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe! I did add my own spices n left over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Recipe was great. A few things I changed.. I used real butter instead of olive oil. I added bacon, garlic salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I also used canned black eyed peas with jalapenos. This was my first time making black eyed peas and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Oh my yum! LOVED this! Just made this but tweaked it a bit (like others suggested)..added turkey kielbasa, okra, cajun seasoning, and hot sauce. Did not use the green pepper or garlic because my hubby doesn't like them. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Thank you for sharing the recipe I made this for New Year's Day and I added garlic, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, Frank's Buffalo Wing Sauce, liquid smoke, & cayenne pepper. It was yummy Next time I'm gonna add jalepenos. I'll add jalepenos next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good. I thought people might be interested in how I modified for the pressure cooker. I only had dry BEPs, and I forgot to soak them in advance, so I followed directions in a pressure cooker cookbook. I placed the dried BEPs in the pressure cooker and topped with water about 1" over the BEPs. (This also helped any debris float to the top, which I skimmed off.) Heated to high pressure then cooked 5 minutes. After depressurizing the beans were completely soft! Next, since I had already dirtied the pressure cooker I decided to just make the whole recipe that way. Only a couple modifications - I added a chopped Anaheim pepper to the celery & onion mixture, because I had one. Because of that I used plain diced tomatoes, and only 1 can. Also I doubled the garlic. Finally, I used about 4 times as much chicken broth, since so much steams off in the pressure cooker. I cooked it under high pressure for about 9 minutes. We added salt at the table - would be good with Tabasco as well. Served with cornbread as recommended. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Good, easy recipe. I cut the recipe in half and used a 1# bag of frozen black eyed peas in place of the canned peas, and a full (~14 oz) can of diced tomatoes with chiles in place of a 1/2 can each of the tomatoes with chiles and diced tomatoes. Had a nice nip to it. Good winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I am going to try it cooked with vegetable broth. I do eat animals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Try the recipe as-is first. I added a bit of paprika, oregano, and black pepper, but my additions made the dish too spicy for the youngsters. The adults enjoyed it just fine, though! Cooked up some bits of andouille sausage for a tasty topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is a good starter recipe. I don't usually add things to the recipes before I rate them, but I did have to add things to this because the flavor was bland. I took the suggestions of a lot people who added things. I added smoked sausage, worcestershire sauce, a little more garlic, soft cooked bacon, bay leaf, paprika, himalayan sea salt, black pepper, chili powder, mushrooms. The sausage realllyyyyy needs to be added. It makes it so much tastier. To me there are way too many tomatoes in this recipe, but that may just be my taste. They seemed to overpower the recipe. I took some out as it began cooking. I put in the one can of diced tomatoes, and only added 1/2 the can of tomatoes with green chilis because with stomach issues, food can't be too spicy. Added 2 tablespoons brown sugar as someone else suggested to lower the acid of the tomatoes. I left out the rice altogether, and cooked it for nearly 3 hours on the stove top. It's still a great recipe, and I do thank the person for posting it, just had to add my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
not very good. Will not make again. Bland and the black eyed peas overpowered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States