Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Really good recipe, and simple to make! I added smoked sausage as suggested below, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this recipe as written, and the brown rice was a little hard at the end of cooking time. The flavor was just ok- the soup overall was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is one of the best gumbo's I have ever had. It was my first time making it, so so simple. I watch my calorie/fat intake very closely, this fit right in. I could eat this everyday of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Maybe the crockpot was the mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was okay. My husband liked it and since it makes so much, he took it to work and shared it with co-workers, who also thought it was good. I personally found it bland, even though I added some hot sauce and cayenne to the recipe. I don't think I will use this particular gumbo recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbm3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Really good! I added cajun seasoning and hot sauce per other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I could eat this for days. Literally. I ate this for days until I was done with all the leftovers. This is classic, stick-to-your-ribs comfort food. I can't say enough good things about this recipe...only change was to add significantly more garlic since I love a strong garlic taste in....everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was very good. I added some smoked sausage, Cajun seasoning and a little Frank's hot sauce as some others had suggested. This gave it a little heat and great flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I've cooked this twice. The first time I followed the recipe. The second time I added chicken andouille sausage. Either way, the pot was all eaten up. A very simple, but delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Black eyed peas are very "earthy" tasting, which overpowered this dish, for me. Not terrible, but won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States