Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I could eat this for days. Literally. I ate this for days until I was done with all the leftovers. This is classic, stick-to-your-ribs comfort food. I can't say enough good things about this recipe...only change was to add significantly more garlic since I love a strong garlic taste in....everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was very good. I added some smoked sausage, Cajun seasoning and a little Frank's hot sauce as some others had suggested. This gave it a little heat and great flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I've cooked this twice. The first time I followed the recipe. The second time I added chicken andouille sausage. Either way, the pot was all eaten up. A very simple, but delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Black eyed peas are very "earthy" tasting, which overpowered this dish, for me. Not terrible, but won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Quite good. I added red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
i added some extra spices...delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was a big hit at my boyfriend's New Year's Eve party, and there were gourmet type adults and teenagers. I sauteed andouille first and skipped the oil, adding the vegetables to the sausage after a few minutes. I also added about a lb of cooked shrimp after everything else was in the pot. Great served with cornbread, and even better the next day. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
It sounded good although the picture was not appealing. I started making it and wondering at the same time "what was I thinking?" I did deviate a bit by adding smoked turkey sausage, a bit of cajun seasoning (recipe on this site) and a touch of hot sauce. And I have to say it was pretty darn good. Surprisingly my daughter LOVED it. So did my wife. They thought it was great. Giving it 4 stars and a thank you. Give it a try, I think it's an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Easy, healthy & tasty. Made as written & felt it was a tad bland - like it's missing something.... Sprinkled green tabasco & grated parm cheese on my bowl & enjoyed it more. Served copycat tastefully simple beer bread on the side. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Easy, delicious and filling. The only adjustment I made was to add some chili powder to bump up the heat. It is perfect in the dead of winter. Makes a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States