Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Excellant recipe, spiced just right, the only thing I added was smoked sausage and about a 1/2 cup more rice because I like it thicker. Really a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is good, and healthy! I make this for my husband as he's on a high protein diet to gain more mass (started weightlifting again). I did change a few things: some spices (cumin, pepper, thyme, paprika), a little more onion and garlic, some green onion, carrots, and mushrooms, omitted the green chiles, and used the dry beans that you soak overnight instead of the canned ones. I also add a little bit of beer about 500g of lean braising steak, which I cut into 4cm pieces and seared first. I slow cook it for about 2 hours, so the beef gets very tender, adding the rice and mushrooms for the last 30 minutes so they don't get too soggy. He loves it! The beef is so tender and the beer makes the sauce so rich, not bitter at all! I make a big pot so he can easily reheat more for himself later. My kids like it too, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cogswifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! Very simple to make and a family favorite here! I love to make this on a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I have made this several times and it has always been perfect! It is especially good with okra and shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I tried this dish for New Years Eve. It was awesome!! My family loved it also. It was the best way to get them to eat blackeyed peas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I used my pressure cooker to first cook unsoaked black eyed peas. I used my smaller pressure cooker to cook hot Italian sausage. Added about 5-6 large cloves of garlic, and I omitted the brown rice. Excellent dish. Kids thought it was a tad spicy, but they ate it anyway. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very bland as is. It needs at least 2 tab spoon of cajun spice, 2 tea spoon Spanish paprika, 1 tea spoon thyme, 2 tea spoon fresh rosemary and 1/4 tea spoon chipotle pepper. 2 cups of cooked black-eyed peas w/o liquid was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
LOVE! I added dashes of hot sauce to mine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was great, added little smokies cocktail sausages and okra for more of a gumbo feel. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This tastes great! I added smoked paprika, liquid smoke, dash of clove and oregano. My only complaint because I eat with my eyes...it does not look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States