Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I served this at an informal party and it was a big hit. I did add salt and may try some Cajun seasoning as well next time, but it was really tasty as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Brought this to a new years potluck and it was a hit! The recipe as is was good, but I added a lb. of beef sausage and a Tbl. of creole seasoning which put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe for black-eyed peas. I'm not usually a fan of them, but thought I'd give this a try for New Year's Day. I only used 3 cans of black-eyed peas instead of the 4 called for, and I also added some andouille sausage. Great flavors without adding any spices. I'll keep this for next New Year's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this recipe as written but added chicken. It was very good. Will try it again with other ingredients, like shrimp, sausage and okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious and very easy to make!!!! I added old bay, hot sauce and turkey sausage to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! Made today for New Year's good luck. Husband does not like B.E. peas but thought this looked good in the slow cooker. He tried it and ate 2 bowls full. I sauted onion, celery, red and green pepper and dumped in to 4 qt. cooker w/ 3 cans peas, minced garlic, 28 oz. petite dice tomatoes & 4 oz. green chilis. Did NOT cook rice w/ peas, so omitted chk. broth. Cooked on hi 2 hours, then low 3 hours. During last 30 minutes or so, turned to hi & added 2c. sliced frozen (thawed)okra and 1/2 lb. sliced smoked turkey sauage that I had browned. Served over white rice with a side of hot cornbread. Everyone at lunch deemed this to be a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this today, to celebrate New Years Day. It tasted great! I did not add any meat, but I think that adding meat would make the recipe excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was excellent and very easy to make. We added jalapenos and some Tony's seasoning but other than that, followed the recipe as written. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This sounds very good. Haven't tried it yet. But I always thought gumbo had okra in it. No
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d3
Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I really loved how easy this dish was to make. The taste was great but I did add tabasco sauce carrots and ham cubes. Chicken would also taste good with this and corn bread. I added more seasonings to bring out the zing but overall loved it! Happy New Year! 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States