Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a wonderful gumbo for a cold day. We made it exactly like the recipe stated but we added the 1 tbsp.creole seasoning as someone suggested. Also chopped up 2 jalapeno peppers and through them in. (We like a kick!). Oh, yeah we used white rice instead of brown. Excelllant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I was looking for Gumbo recipes and came across this. There is no Roux, no Okra and not File, so it is not a gumbo at all. Gumbo is also supposed to be spicy. There is no hint of spice at all here. I may make this someday, when i am looking for a bean soup recipe, but for now I will keep looking for that real Gumbo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klancelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not a fan of black eyed peas; but, for luck we have them every year. I tried this recipe and it was amazing. It was absolutely delicious as is and this will be more than a once a year meal! Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I followed the basic ingredients of the recipe yet omitted a couple ingredients, substituted a few and added: replaced - can black eyed peas for dried (soaked overnight) cut - bell pepper (don't care for them) replaced - dried onion for fresh onion as I didn't have one on hand. replaced - brown rice with approximately 1/2 cup quinoa added - one pound of mild Italian sausage Otherwise I didn't add any additional seasoning however; I cooked in the crock pot for about 7 hours with no prior cooking of veggies or meat. Garished with some sour cream and home made cornbread. I'd certainly make this again. The one extra I had planned to add but forgot...chopped fresh kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Genevieve
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was really good. I made some slight adjustments. Basmati rice instead of brown and I also cooked the veggies with salt & pepper. After everything was combined, I added a bay leaf and some Cavender's Greek seasoning. The recipe would be pretty bland without it, I think. Overall, really delicious! Add a slice of cornbread and it's the perfect New Year's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great starter recipe. I omitted the celery. Used 1 cup low sodium chicken broth and four links of fresh andouille sausage browned. Didn't use canned tomatoes, instead used fresh tomatoes (skin removed), and fresh chile peppers. Added spices - tsp. cayenne pepper, a dash of habanero Tabasco sauce, tsp. Old Bay, two bay leaves and tsp. hot chile powder - to an onion, bell pepper and garlic (4 cloves) saute, then added all to the pot of peas...it would have been too bland otherwise. As it was, the chileheads in my house still added extra habanero hot sauce to their individual servings. Initially didn't add the rice...we started out serving this over white rice made separately...but after the first meal, I stirred the leftover rice into the black eyed pea mixture and the result was even better than the original. Will definitely make this again. Even my mother, who does not like black eyed peas, liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this for New Year's Day. Changed a few things for what I had on hand. Used orzo in place of brown rice, water in place of chicken broth (added some extra seasonings) and carrot in place of celery, used one can of back-eyed peas and one can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a "baby, it's cold outside and I'm hungry" recipe for anyone who has spent time in the chilly temps and needs warming from the inside out! I followed the recipe with the exception of subbing the can of diced tomatoes for a can of tomatoes and okra, which gave the soup a real gumbo effect. Added a bit of salt and pepper as I do everything I cook, served with a loaf of AR's Amish White Bread and we had a perfect meal. Super easy to prepare, ingredients you have on hand lots of flavor and sticktoitiveness!! Will gladly do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
First, if there's no okra in a recipe, it's not a gumbo, just a stew. That said, this was far too bland for my taste. It's just missing the taste one normally gets from using a good homemade roux and adding the okra to thicken along with gumbo file (ground sassafras) at the end. To me this was nothing more than a "soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I served this at an informal party and it was a big hit. I did add salt and may try some Cajun seasoning as well next time, but it was really tasty as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States