Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The photo shows corn in the finished product, but I didn't see it listed in the ingredients??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe! The only thing I added was about 12 oz. of smoked sausage (diced) and a large ham hock. This gave a little more smokey flavor. Excellent recipe! Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Amazing recipe - hearty, flavorful, healthy - perfect. I've been eating a little bit in the mornings and really fills me up and powers me through the day, then I get my healthy carbs out of the way for the day to burn efficiently. I followed a readers recommendation to add smoked sausage, I used smoked turkey sausage and then we either dabbed on Chulula sauce or tapatio. Instant hit in the house! I froze some to defrost at a later time, I don't think that will be too far off. Delicious...thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is absolutely awesome! I added quite a bit of cajun seasoning and used the hottest Rotel tomatoes. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The seasonings have to be revved up in this one. I recommend black pepper, cayenne, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeni
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made the gumbo tonight. Omitted the celery and added sausage as recommended by others. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this for guests NY Day. It was a huge hit. None of us like the taste of sassafrass/file' so I was happy not to have to omit anything. We all loved it with my award winning cornbread. This a keeper & a lovely winter supper. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I noticed there is corn and sausage in the Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo picture, but there is none mentioned in the list of ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I chopped up 1/2 jalapeno pepper deseeded and added it to the onion, bell pepper, and celery for a little heat. I also added Andouille Sausge for some meat. It was easy to make and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Wanted blackeyed peas for New Years but not a big fan. Found this recipe and fell in love. Did not have any brown rice so substituted a box of Zatarains long grain and wild rice mix and thru in some smoked sausage. Its a keeper! Will have it again. Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States