Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Good, easy recipe. I cut the recipe in half and used a 1# bag of frozen black eyed peas in place of the canned peas, and a full (~14 oz) can of diced tomatoes with chiles in place of a 1/2 can each of the tomatoes with chiles and diced tomatoes. Had a nice nip to it. Good winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I am going to try it cooked with vegetable broth. I do eat animals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Try the recipe as-is first. I added a bit of paprika, oregano, and black pepper, but my additions made the dish too spicy for the youngsters. The adults enjoyed it just fine, though! Cooked up some bits of andouille sausage for a tasty topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is a good starter recipe. I don't usually add things to the recipes before I rate them, but I did have to add things to this because the flavor was bland. I took the suggestions of a lot people who added things. I added smoked sausage, worcestershire sauce, a little more garlic, soft cooked bacon, bay leaf, paprika, himalayan sea salt, black pepper, chili powder, mushrooms. The sausage realllyyyyy needs to be added. It makes it so much tastier. To me there are way too many tomatoes in this recipe, but that may just be my taste. They seemed to overpower the recipe. I took some out as it began cooking. I put in the one can of diced tomatoes, and only added 1/2 the can of tomatoes with green chilis because with stomach issues, food can't be too spicy. Added 2 tablespoons brown sugar as someone else suggested to lower the acid of the tomatoes. I left out the rice altogether, and cooked it for nearly 3 hours on the stove top. It's still a great recipe, and I do thank the person for posting it, just had to add my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
not very good. Will not make again. Bland and the black eyed peas overpowered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by KaleyADPi
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made pretty much exactly according to the recipe except I used 2 frozen bags of vegetables (celery, onion, and bell pepper medley). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Mh family nsaid it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Sutter
Photo by Mhansmann
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I liked it a lot, very easy to prepare and without that much of spices it tasted delicious! I had to make some changes/adaptations because of the ingredients I had and didn´t. I didn´t use de can of pepper and tomato and instead used 2 peppers, instead of the canned tomatoes, I used a natural tomatoe and the rice wasn´t the brown one. I think a bit of chorizo, sausage or smoked ham with give that extra kick! Definitely will try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe is so good! I substituted veggie broth instead the chicken broth and also added in half of an extremely ripe jalapeno. It just kept getting better with each day that it had time so soak up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ritzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Everyone loved it, even Aaron and William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States