Black-Eyed Pea Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Just made this for Christmas Eve and it was a great success! Just a few changes...I used a 16oz can of Mexican petite diced tomatoes instead of the chopped Romas. They had jalapeno peppers so did not add any more. I used Splenda instead of 2 T sugar and I added a can of Mexicali corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was a HUGE hit at our New Years Day party....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adele
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was very good! I made a few changes to make this a light meal instead of a side dish. I added two boneless/skinless chicken thighs (diced, which I cooked with frozen black eyed peas instead of canned, then I rinsed the black eyes peas and chicken). This would also work with pre-cooked/grilled chicken breast. I also added avocado and sweet corn. I cut the sugar in half, but it was still a little too sweet for me - next time I would use either sweet corn or sugar, but not both. To cut the sweetness and add spice (I didn't have any jalapenos on hand), I added about 1 tsp of hot sauce, some red pepper flakes, and I squeezed some lime juice just before serving. This was yummy, and a beautiful, colorful presentation for an outdoor, summer/spring evening dinner! I also made a kid-friendly batch with no onion, garlic, or peppers, which 2 out of 3 of my kids enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very easy to make and tastes fantastic. A friend of mine at New Years Eve couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbafia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We made this dip for New Years this year. It was a huge hit and didn't last long at the party. I added diced avocados which were awesome!! Next time I'll double the recipe. My husband loved it and he hates black eyed peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
this has a lovely flavor, and it hasnt even had a chance to marry in the fridge yet...so im looking forward to trying it after a few hours of sitting. i used a can of diced rotel tomatoes w/ green chilies instead of the fresh tomatoes (didnt have any, though im sure it would be even better with the fresh as suggested). i also added half a can of corn w/ green chilies (just had them left over in the fridge and wanted to use them up :) For folks complaining of it being too sweet...just cut the sugar back a bit, but dont omit it all together...the combination of balsamic vinegar and sugar is what makes it...that and lots of garlic....but give this dish a try...its simple and good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Westrope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe is way too sweet! I would omit the sugar all together, add less oil and put in some red and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe makes a good, healthy, and easy appetizer. I rated three stars because it was a little bit sweet. Next time I will omit the sugar and add some chopped red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jryan856

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Made one batch as listed then I made a second batch and left out the sugar and cilantro. Perfect! Yummy dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Help! I've made this awesome recipe and I can't stop eating it! I couldn't find canned black eyed peas so I used my favorite - black beans - and it is probably just as tasty. I've gotta go now, I need to make more of this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States