Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very tasty. I added a bit of garlic powder, salt and pepper. I cooked everything with fresh ingredients, and used dried peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this today and it was awesome! The only change I made was added a little more "spice", but would have been wonderful without it. Just personal preference. I did use diced tomatos,because didn't have stewed on hand. Will make this again, even if it's not "New Years".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is very good. I made it as written only adding a second can of peas, some cooked rice at the end and 1 tsp of Creole seasoning. Going to let it sit overnight and then have it for tomorrow's lunch topped with the bacon and maybe even some sliced green onions on top and some corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. Similar to others, I used chicken broth instead of the beef consomme, two cans of Blackeye Peas and one can of spicy chipotle tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I always make my husband eat black eyed peas on New Years Day for good luck. He hates them, so this year I decided to stop torturing him and find a recipe including black eyed peas that he would enjoy. This was great! In addition to the black eyed peas I added a can of kidney beans because I thought it needed some more texture. I also added garlic and some other spices. I served this with Waikiki Cornbread - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a new favorite in our house!!! It gets 5 stars all around!!! I served it with Jiffy corn muffins!!! Yummm.... It was so good!!! You have to give it a try! You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I double this recipe, and it's gobbled up in a hurry. The first time I made this it was great, but I've added a few things that have people begging for the recipe every time. It goes as follows: 3 (15.5 oz) cans black eyed peas with liquid 2 (14.5 ounce) cans beef broth + 3 cubes beef bouillon 2 (29 ounce) cans PETITE diced seasoned tomatoes 1 1/2 cup chopped onion 12 oz Pkg Morning Star Crumbles 1 (4 ounce) can diced green chilies 3 TBS Kitchen Bouquet or Gravy Master 1 TBS Chili Powder 1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper 1/2 tsp Celery Seed Garlic Croutons Provolone Cheese 1 to 2 pounds of CRISP crumbled bacon (I use pre-cooked packaged bacon) 1. In a large pot, combine all ingredients. Bring to a rolling boil. Boil 5 minutes stirring frequently. Reduce heat to low. Simmer for a half hour or so. 2. Store in refrigerator over night. 3. Prior to serving, bring soup to a boil, stirring frequently and reduce heat to low. 4. Meanwhile, fry bacon and crumble to serve atop soup. 5. Spoon soup into serving bowls, cover with croutons, top with 1 slice of Provolone, sprinkle with crumbled bacon and microwave just until cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Really easy and really good! I didn't need to make any modifications. This recipe is great to have on hand for new years or even a cold and rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes & thought that was plenty. I added some crushed red pepper flakes, crushed bay leaves & I added additional broth. When the soup was done, I added about a 1/2 cup of instant rice & took it off the heat w/ the lid on, until the rice was done. This made it thick & hearty...it was a new year's day gumbo! LOL I used thick-sliced peppery bacon leftover from breakfast & served it w/ split, buttered, toasted biscuits, also leftover from breakfast. It was delicious & very easy ...I couldn't help but be glad that I didn't spend much time in the kitchen on New Year's day. Thansk for the recipe Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I first made this recipe the day after New Year's in 1999 when I had a bowl full of peas left. My variation on this recipe is to use one can of Rotel tomatoes and a 14 ounce can of regular diced tomatoes or stewed tomatoes. Of course being soup, you can anything you desire. If you don't have Rotel tomatoes, add a small can of green chiles or jalepenos to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States