Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a good simple recipe that does not need much work. As somebody else said, I think two cans of black eyed peas would be better than one. I also seasoned it up a bit with cayenne pepper, chili powder, garlic powder and cooked it with two bay leaves. Usually, I am not the can open/mix everything together person, I was impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Love this! I did do a couple of things different to give it more flavor. I used diced tomatoes that had a mix of chilies in it. Also to make if fit more for New Years I added can collard greens already seasoned. Placed all in crockpot the night before on keep it warm while gone. For 6-7 hours. Cut off when got home got up next morning and cooked on high for 3-4 hours. I didn't add bacon til in my bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Yummy meal for a cold winter night. Added extra can of black-eyed peas and used one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and one 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes. Served with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Really good and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Husband and guests loved this delicious and healthy chowder which is a snap to make. Already have the ingredients to make a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have made this super-easy and delicious soup every New Years Day for many years, sharing it with family and friends. The first time I ever made it brought the realization that I just don't care for bacon after after it simmers in soup (i.e.,limp and slimey). So...for the meat, I substitute a 1/2-inch thick ham steak, well-rinsed*, trimmed, and cut into 1-inch cubes. I still saute the vegetables in bacon drippings, and simmer everything until the ham is done. *Cut out the center bone, then rinse the whole steak two or three times with water to remove as much salt as possible. This is my favorite winter soup, and I have yet to encounter anyone who, once they tasted it, didn't like it--even people who say they don't like blackeyed peas! Oh, and I absolutely agree--can't beat cornbread as an accompaniment. This recipe gets salt from the canned vegetables, consomme and the bacon or ham, so be sure to taste it before adding any more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Pretty good. The only change I made was I added a little garlic when I sauteed the onion and green pepper. Best after it sits in fridge a day or two...cornbread is a must have with this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I could just about live on this soup. I used left over ham instead of bacon and was out of fresh celery. So I used can Tomatoes with celery, onion in them. This was very flavorful and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
If I still had my food processor it would have been very easy. The people in my family think they don't like green pepper, onion and even celery so I had to chop them in a very small dice. Took a while. I used uncured bacon, 12 oz., instead of a pound. The flavor is really good and that is before I put the bacon bits on to serve. All in all, an easy recipe for good luck in the new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
very healthy and cost saving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States