Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
THIS WAS GREAT! I had this for a New Year's Brunch and it was a huge hit! I "constructed it" two nights before in a crock pot and kept it refrigerated until New Year's morning. I had the recipe scaled for 12, and omited one of the cans of tomato so it would fit into the crock pot. It was WONDERFUL!!! I will be making this again!!! (Just finished the leftovers tonight!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This recipe was wonderful. Everyone loved it. I don't normally like black eyed peas but this soup is out of this world. Thank You!! It also "saved me"-I didn't know what to fix that included black eyed peas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Very tasty soup. I used lean 'weight watchers' bacon, added another cup of celery and then liquidised 3/4 of the soup. Delicious, very filling, non fattening and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Pretty good. I used Chicken broth instead of beef broth and added some pepper to spice it up a bit. Also, may be better with 2 cans of black-eyed peas instead of 1 because the tomatoes were numerous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I use "Sizzle-Lean" instead of bacon and also puree my tomatoes and add a can of whole kernal corn. Makes an excellent winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL AND GREAT TASTING DISH. I USED 1 BAG OF FROZEN BLACK EYED PEAS. I ALSO USED LEAN, THICK CUT BACON AND ONCE THE CHOWDER WAS COMPLETED ADDED THE COOKED BACON BACK IN. A DISH THAT CAN NOT BE FULLY APPRECIATED UNLESS YOU COOK IT A COUPLE OF DAYS AHEAD OF TIME. VERY EASY TO PREPARE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I thought this dish was very good. I didn't think I would ever be able to make a black eyed pea dish that my picky boyfriend would try. We both loved it and keep all the ingredients handy for when we crave this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Willows, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This recipe was a big hit! I made it for New Year's Eve and served it with cabbage. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I used frozen peas, so it took longer to cook, and I had to add more liquid. It was delicious. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I really enjoyed this one. To make it lower in fat, I used cubed smoked turkey instead of the bacon; as such I used chicken broth in lieu of the beef consomme. I'm not especially fond of tomatoes so I left them out, yet it still came out yummy. I served it with rice - not a drop was left over. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was OK. It had a good basic flavor but I thought could've used something more. I cut back on the bacon to cut some fat, but I think cutting it out altogether wouldn't hurt. Though not a favorite, I would probably make again if I had some black-eyed peas or tomatoes to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States