Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This recipe was a big hit! I made it for New Year's Eve and served it with cabbage. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I used frozen peas, so it took longer to cook, and I had to add more liquid. It was delicious. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I thought this dish was very good. I didn't think I would ever be able to make a black eyed pea dish that my picky boyfriend would try. We both loved it and keep all the ingredients handy for when we crave this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Willows, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL AND GREAT TASTING DISH. I USED 1 BAG OF FROZEN BLACK EYED PEAS. I ALSO USED LEAN, THICK CUT BACON AND ONCE THE CHOWDER WAS COMPLETED ADDED THE COOKED BACON BACK IN. A DISH THAT CAN NOT BE FULLY APPRECIATED UNLESS YOU COOK IT A COUPLE OF DAYS AHEAD OF TIME. VERY EASY TO PREPARE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I use "Sizzle-Lean" instead of bacon and also puree my tomatoes and add a can of whole kernal corn. Makes an excellent winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Pretty good. I used Chicken broth instead of beef broth and added some pepper to spice it up a bit. Also, may be better with 2 cans of black-eyed peas instead of 1 because the tomatoes were numerous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Very tasty soup. I used lean 'weight watchers' bacon, added another cup of celery and then liquidised 3/4 of the soup. Delicious, very filling, non fattening and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This recipe was wonderful. Everyone loved it. I don't normally like black eyed peas but this soup is out of this world. Thank You!! It also "saved me"-I didn't know what to fix that included black eyed peas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
THIS WAS GREAT! I had this for a New Year's Brunch and it was a huge hit! I "constructed it" two nights before in a crock pot and kept it refrigerated until New Year's morning. I had the recipe scaled for 12, and omited one of the cans of tomato so it would fit into the crock pot. It was WONDERFUL!!! I will be making this again!!! (Just finished the leftovers tonight!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States