Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes & thought that was plenty. I added some crushed red pepper flakes, crushed bay leaves & I added additional broth. When the soup was done, I added about a 1/2 cup of instant rice & took it off the heat w/ the lid on, until the rice was done. This made it thick & hearty...it was a new year's day gumbo! LOL I used thick-sliced peppery bacon leftover from breakfast & served it w/ split, buttered, toasted biscuits, also leftover from breakfast. It was delicious & very easy ...I couldn't help but be glad that I didn't spend much time in the kitchen on New Year's day. Thansk for the recipe Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I first made this recipe the day after New Year's in 1999 when I had a bowl full of peas left. My variation on this recipe is to use one can of Rotel tomatoes and a 14 ounce can of regular diced tomatoes or stewed tomatoes. Of course being soup, you can anything you desire. If you don't have Rotel tomatoes, add a small can of green chiles or jalepenos to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I had never eaten black eyed peas before trying this recipe. I use dried peas and alter the tomatoes to our favored ratio. I also use real bacon bits so that it is EASY and I always have the needed ingredients on hand. My husband and I make this soup frequently during the winter. Very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I have been searching for a way to make Black-Eyed Peas for years, since my husband "has" to have them for good luck. This recipe will be our family dish for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scherrer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Not bad. As written, it's a little bit bland, so I added some red pepper flakes, cayenne, and garlic powder. I like the versatility of this recipe - you can have it over rice or noodles, with potatoes, or on its own with some nice crusty bread. Oh, don't make the mistake I did: I made this New Year's Eve, and threw the bacon in with the other ingredients. When we came to eat it New Year's Day, the bacon had lost its lovely crispiness, and was really soggy. Anyway, thanks, Brenda! And Happy New Year all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is a regular in the winter time in our house. We like using the black-eyed peas w/jalepenos for that little zip and serve with hot corn bread. The nice thing is that you can use any kind of bean....try black beans...mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Very good. I'd give it five stars, but it's my first review, and I want to reserve the 5 star rating. Following the suggestion of others, I used what I'm sure would be double the amount of peas (I used 1 lb of fresh, which I cooked before adding to the soup). I called dh in to taste it for me and possibly add seasonings, as the recipe hadn't called for additional salt. He added some salt and some thyme. Having tasted it, I think bay leaf would also work, and will try that next time. Dh and both enjoyed it a great deal, and 2 of the kids did as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This chowder needed a little help to make it a more subtancial meal for our family. So I added about 1 pound of peeled shrimp (you can also use grilled shrimp) for added flavor and it made all the difference! I also doubled the recipe and froze some for later -- it was even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was OK. It had a good basic flavor but I thought could've used something more. I cut back on the bacon to cut some fat, but I think cutting it out altogether wouldn't hurt. Though not a favorite, I would probably make again if I had some black-eyed peas or tomatoes to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I really enjoyed this one. To make it lower in fat, I used cubed smoked turkey instead of the bacon; as such I used chicken broth in lieu of the beef consomme. I'm not especially fond of tomatoes so I left them out, yet it still came out yummy. I served it with rice - not a drop was left over. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States