Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is the only chocolate cake recipe I use now and it turns out beautifully every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This cake got mixed reviews in our house; followed the recipe exactly. I thought it had a strong baking powder aftertaste. The texture is dense and spongy, my husband thought it was one of my non-fat concoctions. My daughter who usually only eats frosting liked the cake, my other daughter wouldn't eat it. To its credit, this cake is very chocolatey. If I make again, I may try subbing milk or coffee for the water, and might add some chocolate chips too. (I originally gave this 3 stars but added a star - the flavor was better the following day.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Fabulous recipe! The only changes I made were to add instant coffee and use milk instead of the water as other reviewers suggested. I made cupcakes and iced with marshmallow frosting, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good cake. I made a few adjustments to cut the fat (used 1/3 C Golden Crisco and 1/3 C. Applesauce) and substituted 1/2 C. of the water with brewed coffee. Very light, moist, flavourful cake. I glazed it with the following while the cake was still warm: Beat together w/mixer: 2 C. Icing sugar, 2 T. Cocoa, 2 T. butter, 2 T. boiling water & 2 t. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This cake is perfect. I've made it several times with no modifications to the recipe. Very moist and a great not too sweet taste. Since I've introduced my family to this chocolate cake I have been designated the birthday cake maker. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Marvellous texture! Moist, delicate, and fudgy on top. Try to use really good quality cocoa- it takes the cake from being kind of watered-down tasting to indulgent. Layered it with whipping cream whipped with raspberry jam, and spooned thawed, unsweetened raspberries over the top. It is a soft cake, so I did have a bit of trouble getting it out of the pan in one piece- make sure the pans are really well greased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
DELICIOUS! Great chocolate flavor but not too sweet. The cake was moist. My husband requested a chocolate cake for his birthday today. My favorite is not usually chocolate cake, but this is one I would make again. Easy to make but more important it is a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I've made this cake at least 20 times, and I've never had it turn out badly once. I melt the butter in the hot water, then throw everything into my kitchenaid mixer and let it go for 10 min. I dump it into a pan 9 x 13 pan and let it bake for the allotted time. It comes out great. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
A great recipe for dark chocolate lovers because it isn't that sweet, but has the chocolate flavor. I topped my cake with a semi-sweet chocolate Kahlua ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
My husband loved it. I didn't have a sifter when I made it and it turned out so good. Better than when I use the sifter. I made this cake three times in just a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States