Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is truly the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted or made. Everyone who tastes it raves about it. I was even asked by a friend to make this cake for her wedding! And it's super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I hate when I devote my time and ingredients to a recipe that seems to have a perfect rating just to end up disappointed. After following the recipe TO THE TEE was that the cake was indeed chocolatey but not sweet! It crumbled very easily and no matter how much I greased and floured my good quality non stick pans, the batter still stuck and the cake made a mess just getting out of the pan. I really wanted to like it especially since this recipe didn't call for milk which I was out of but unfortunately, I did not have good results with this recipe. More power to those of you who reached success, however you did it! Thank you anyway for generously sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I live at high altitude, and it turned out fine. Not dry and crumbly. What I thought I might do next time though, is add a little more salt and some more cocoa. It was really good though with making it exact. Also, maybe find a good minty frosting recipe to add on top. As far as exploding grease; you bring the water to a boil, take it off the heat and THEN add the shortening, stirring till it melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This cake was fab!! I made it with the fluffy peanut butter frosting and it was a hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Awesome!!! Made this for a friend's birthday as a surprise-first time I tried it and it is soooo good. Very moist, dark chocolate, easy to prepare and tastes wonderful. We highly recommend this to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
First off, this cake tastes wonderful. If I was just eating the cake and not have to MAKE it, it would easily be 5 stars. With that being said, it was almost impossible to frost, because it crumbled and fell apart. I actually made it twice, because I thought that I did something wrong the first time. It was a hit with my family and easy to whip up, but the fun stopped there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this for my son's 23rd birthday and he LOVED it. The other 3 kids loved it too. I used the 1 cup water with 1 cup of milk together. I made it in a Bundt pan for 50 minutes and when cooled I frosted it with a buttercream frosting. I mentioned it to someone at work and they said their grandmother made a similar cake using 2 cups of coffee so I may try this next. I think this will be my new chocolate cake recipe from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I will never make another chocolate cake after making this! I needed cupcakes for a baby shower and I wanted the cake to look very dark so it would look awesome with the baby blue icing. It was black, and delicious. They were the hit of the shower. I did substitute 1 stick of butter in place of the shortening. I have never used shortening. Otherwise, I did the ingredients as listed. The cupcakes were done in 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Hello from Spain, this recipe is spectacular, cooking time up to 8 people is 45 minutes at 175 ° C I've made ??some changes I changed 1 cup water with 1 cup of milk I added 2 tablespoons of powdered milk and I added 1 teaspoon of instant coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Totally loved this recipe-the best, most tasty and moist chocolate cake ever. Used the coffee and butter, no shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States