Black Bottom Cupcakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I made this in cake form without altering quantities. I baked it in a glass 9.5 x 11. It was delicious. I put all the chocolate batter in the bottom and poured all the cream cheese mixture on top. Then I took a greased knife and cut through it many times creating a marble like effect on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I was initially disappointed with these cupcakes - they weren't as rich and gooey as I would have liked. HOWEVER, LETTING THESE SIT OVERNIGHT IS A MUST. The next day they were rich, moist and much more flavorful. I downed three of them before I could stop myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is the same recipe my mom used when I was a kid, it's delish. Don't cook for 35 minutes as the recipe states at the bottom though or they'll be overdone, I suggest checking them at 20 minutes, that's when mine are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
These are my husband's all time favorite cupcakes, and I decided to make them for his birthday. I definitely wanted a rich, dark, chocolate cake for these - so here's what I did: I used 1/2 c. of Hershey's cocoa, 1 Tbsp. of pure vanilla, and replaced the water with strong brewed coffee. I didn't change a thing with the cream cheese mixture except to add a little vanilla and make sure that the cream cheese and egg were at room temp. just as you do with cheese cakes. I used foil baking cups to bake these and got 18 cupcakes. Watch carefully - mine were done in 20 minutes. Cool and store in the fridge as they're best the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
As I sit in my burnt cocoa/coffee smelling house, I can't help remembering how happy I was this morning as I shopped for all the wonderful ingredients to make these cupcakes. Followed the recipe EXACTLY - except for using coffee for water. The batter flowed up and out of the tins...all over the bottom of my oven, then burnt all over my pans, which will have to be thrown out. After 30 minutes - tar-like consistency - same after 35 minutes. WHAT a waste! Now I need to go buy a dessert, because these were to be a "bring the dessert" dish. Maybe I'll also bring one pan of the mess just so everyone can know that I tried, and they should not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These are a hit everywhere I take them. I use the foil instead of the paper liners which help prevent the cupcake from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
These were yummy! I had no idea it was so easy to make cupcakes without using a mix. I'll never go back! Some observations: (1) The cake part is a little bland - not sure what to do, maybe add more cocoa powder? I would like them to have been more chocolaty so as to contrast with the cream cheese part. (2) Not very pretty... maybe next time I'd try piping the cream cheese mixture in? I thought the black and white parts would magically melt into something beautiful, but they looked like the same messy blobs of white they were when I spooned them in! (3) This recipe does in fact yield 24 cupcakes if you follow the recipe as it's written. I filled the cups up 1/3 of the way with the cake mix and then added a heaping spoonful of the cream cheese mixture and came out with exactly 24 cupcakes, none of which flowed over as others experienced. The cake with rise a good amount and 1/3 full is just right. With some tweaks I will certainly make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I don't know if my rating of this is entirely fair, since I used a diff. cake recipe for the "black bottom" part, and I must say in doing so I didn't have any trouble with them sticking to the papers. I can see why the recipe only wants you to fill the lines 1/3 full of batter, they rise so much! I probably used 2-3 tablespoons of cream cheese per each (using the ziploc bag sugg) and a spoonful of cherry pie filling on the very top before baking. It not only makes them delicious, but very pretty too. Will make again for sure as everyone was impressed only next time I will double the cream cheese mixture and make 24 cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
My mom made these when I was a child. She put them in the mini muffin tins and they were alway the "wow, who made these", at any function. One of my friends uses them in her bakery/catering business and they are the best sellers. The chocolate portion is soooo rich and chocolatey. My favorite sweet recipe. Just AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A very decadent, chocolately cupcake. It has a taste that reminds me of chocolate chip cheesecake but is a lot faster, easier, and cheaper. I made as-written but might even experiment with the amount of cocoa in the batter, to make it a little less chocolately for my own tastes. But as-is these are fantastic, and I would reach for this recipe to wow people with. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States