Black Bottom Cupcakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is the same recipe my mom used when I was a kid, it's delish. Don't cook for 35 minutes as the recipe states at the bottom though or they'll be overdone, I suggest checking them at 20 minutes, that's when mine are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
These turned out excellent. The chocolate cake portion was very moist. I wondered how that would turn out given the ingredients. I used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting from this site. It goes great on top of these cupcakes flavor-wise but in my opinion had a little too runny a texture. (could have been something I did wrong perhaps) I am taking these to a party tomorrow and am sure they'll be a hit! I plan to make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I don't know if my rating of this is entirely fair, since I used a diff. cake recipe for the "black bottom" part, and I must say in doing so I didn't have any trouble with them sticking to the papers. I can see why the recipe only wants you to fill the lines 1/3 full of batter, they rise so much! I probably used 2-3 tablespoons of cream cheese per each (using the ziploc bag sugg) and a spoonful of cherry pie filling on the very top before baking. It not only makes them delicious, but very pretty too. Will make again for sure as everyone was impressed only next time I will double the cream cheese mixture and make 24 cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Taste great, but I have to make another batch because the cupcake liners stuck to the cupcakes and it is one big mess! Cannot take to the party tomorrow. I don't know a solution, I'm in the process of experimenting..uggh Use coffee instead of water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Wonderful!! I used the tip from another reader and put the filling in a zip lock bag and squeezed it into the center of each cupcake. I think this made it easier to get the filling down into the bottom of the cupcakes. I also frosted these with the whipped cream cheese frosting from this site. I thought it might be too sweet, but the frosting is so light that it makes these perfect. I got RAVE reviews from family and co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is one recipe which will be in my repertoire for years to come! It turned out so moist and the contrast in tastes was sublime. I substituted the sugar with brown sugar and used shaved white chocolate instead of chocolate chips. The recipe can be doubled as there was excess cream cheese topping (which I used up anyway, yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These were tasty...especially a day or two later. The cupcakes were more moist and flavorful the longer they sat (within reason!) Definitely an uncommon treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
these were good. I did cheat and use devil food cake mix. very easy and everyone who ate them said they were very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I thought they were ok. I'm a chocolate lover and to me they didn't seem to have much flavor. Although my husband and son loved them. I'll keep this in my recipe box but i think i'm going to keep looking for the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These were really great!! Need a BIG glass of milk with them. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States