Black Bottom Cupcakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These went together very easily even though there were a lot of ingredients. I reduced the recipe to 12 but only got 9. They tasted much better than I anticipated because I thought the amount of cocoa powder wouldn't be enough but they are very chocolaty and gooey! Next time I will eliminate the egg from the cream cheese mix as was suggested by many I thought it was too runny. Standard size chocolate chips were used. All in all very happy with these! The only thing I would change is the name. Black Bottom just doesn't describe them well enough. I call them "Chocolate chocolate chip cheesecake cupcakes"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegiewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was the first time I had made these and they were really good. I had to omit the vinegar because I didn't have any. I used regular semisweet chocolate instead of mini. Like all the other recipes state definitely no more than 30 minutes. The only thing I would change is to swirl the two layers together. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I loved the cream filling. I used the cake mix from Duncan Hines (dark chocolate fudge). The combination was great. Will make this again. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is a family favorite. My husband's mom used to make this recipe for him a child and now we make it for our family too. Perfect for making for a school bake sale or event, they look good but are low mess. And by using Hershey's ingredients we keep it peanut-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Very good! I added a dollop of cookies and cream buttercream and a piece of oreo on top. The first to go at an event, plus requests for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe for my foods class and I was not all that impressed with it. It was like a very very heavy pound cake- it wasn't chocolatey at all, the cream cheese baked to the point where there was absolutely no creamy qualities in it anymore-mwhich sucked becuase that's what I was looking most forward to. I wasn't hapopy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Wow- these were sooo good! Huge hit at home and I brought the rest to work the next day- they were gone before lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I normally won't try a recipe if I don't have all the ingredients, but I really wanted to make these for my husband's birthday today. I had to substitute pureed light cottage cheese for the cream cheese since I didn't have any, used cider vinegar since I was out of white, added a heaping tablespoon of instant coffee to the chocolate batter, and doubled the cocoa. Oh my goodness - these are DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
LOVE THESE CUPCAKES SAME RECIPIE AS MY G-MOMS!!!!!!! I OPTED TO SUB WATER FOR COFFEE AND USED DARK COCOA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I really like the brown part of the cupcake. There is not enough of cheesecake. I had only 20 (not 24) cupcakes of this original recipe and the cheesecake part was just lightly covering top... not even noticeable when eating. so maybe next time I will double the cheese mixture. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States